MeWe Review: Danger- Your Privacy Is at Risk (This Is a Facebook Alternative)

By: | January 8, 2019 | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
MeWe review
Photo by Lisa Fotios on Pexels.com

Are you here for a MeWe review?

UPDATE: On November 9, 2020, MeWe was the most downloaded app at the iOS Store. According to the Miami Herald, MeWe’s downloads surpassed that of Tik Tok.

Did you know MeWe bills itself as the “anti-Facebook?”

There are actually many social media sites you can use to generate website traffic like StumbleUpon which folded.

However, MeWe social media offers an alternative from traditional social media sites such as Facebook.

This MeWe review explains

  • Is MeWe private?
  • Is MeWe a dating app?
  • What is the MeWe app used for?
  • Is MeWe better than Facebook?

What is MeWe?

MeWe Review

The social media site is called “The Next Gen Social Network.”

MeWe is owned by Sgrouples, a company based in Culver City, California in the United States.

MeWe is a social media site. Its CEO and Founder is Mark Weinstein.

Although the site has many similarities to Facebook, MeWe has been called the “anti-Facebook” due to its strict rules about protecting users’ privacy that Facebook hasn’t had.

If you are over 16 years old, the minimum age allowed to use the site, keep reading this MeWe review. MeWe, the anti-Facebook, might be for you.

Update December 2020: MeWe is currently surging in popularity as conservatives leave Facebook and look for a new social media site to call home. They are turning to two sites, MeWe and Parler.

Update January 2021: January 8, two days after the insurrection in the U.S. Capitol, Google banned the Parler app. Apparently, Apple is considering doing the same. I predict this will result in even more downloads for MeWe and an expansion of MeWe’s user base. Watch this space for more updates on this situation.

MeWe Review

This MeWe review offers advantages and disadvantages of MeWe.

Advantages of MeWe:

MeWe is called the “Private Social Network” since it protects your data.

According to Google Play:

“MeWe is the uplifting Next-Gen Social Network with awesome social features and No BS.

MeWe members see every post, chat, comment, etc., made by individuals, pages, and groups they are connected with, in a true timeline order. 

MeWe members own their data and enjoy the protection of MeWe‘s Privacy Bill Of Rights.”

August 2020

I encourage you to read the comment section of this post. To quote one commenter, “Your review is by far not my experience after using MeWe for over two years.”

At the time of this writing, there are 51 comments on this post. By reading the comments section. you get a more comprehensive MeWe review which presents both sides, both positive and negative, as any well-written review should.

July 2020 Update: MeWe vs Facebook

This MeWe review is certainly timely. Facebook’s troubles continue as advertisers boycott the site for preferring “hate for profit.”

MeWe reviews will show MeWe is the “anti-Facebook.” and a viable Facebook alternative.

This MeWe review shows that MeWe doesn’t sell personal data. This is in contrast to Facebook which has already admitted doing so.

If you have seen recent MeWe reviews 2020, you know that MeWe’s contributors continue to donate large amounts to the site.

Let’s get started learning about MeWe, the anti-Facebook. Bring on the MeWe review!

MeWe Review

Updates in January 2019: Now that Google+ is closing, MeWe is enabling all Google+ users to update their Google+ content directly to MeWe

Also, since the original publication of this post, I discovered MeWe has an app called, “MeWe Network.”

Quite a stir.

That’s what the impending closure of Google+ caused.

The announcement caused quite a stir twice: once when the site first initially announced it was closing due to a data breach, and then again when Google+ announced it was closing four months earlier than planned due to a second data breach.

I came to the rescue by researching and publishing my findings: 13 social media websites still growing their user bases.

A commenter informed me that although my choices of rising social media sites were good ones, there was even a better choice for an active social media site, a new site called “MeWe.”

The commenter, Alexa Shaw, authored this MeWe review to tell you about MeWe, the exciting social media site.

According to Alexa, “MeWe allows us to share our photographic adventures, visually and through the written word. They don’t allow commercial ads either. So, to be able to introduce people to a non-commercial social media gathering site to help them find a new home to replace G+, I’d be honored to send a little something your way.”

Bring on Alexa’s MeWe review and discover the advantages of using MeWe, a new social media site.

MeWe Reviews Update

Since starting as a social media platform and Facebook alternative, MeWe continues to generate a great deal of hype.

There are many positive MeWe reviews such as this one:

Posted July 26, 2020:

“Left Facebook for MeWe and so far it’s a nice experience. There’s still room for growth such as more videos and groups but I like the fact that everything is in one app instead of having to download two like you have to do with Facebook. Plus, the privacy is welcoming. Don’t have to worry so much about Big Brother having access to everything I do on my phone. Keep it up MeWe! I believe in you! (Source)”

A Facebook Alternative

MeWe Review: An Introduction To MeWe

Social Media – The Way It Was Intended

Google Plus Is Shutting Down. Facebook Sells Your Personal Data — MeWe.com Can Help

Alexa Shaw

When Janice asked me to write a MeWe review, I was happy to add my 2-cents. My non-profit, This Is Saipan, and I have been members of MeWe since 2016. I can’t tell you about Mark Weinstein’s visionary origin story behind MeWe, but I can certainly fill you in on its cornucopia of features.

What convinced the others and me at This Is Saipan & 15th Parallel Photography, is the fact Mark Weinstein, the founder, and creator of MeWe, intentionally designed his social media platform around a shield of “personal privacy.”

Imagine, a social network designed with the specific intent of building an infrastructure that maintains OUR privacy and not to strip it away. Another feature we really appreciate – NO ADS! There are no commercial ads on MeWe.

Your pages, group meetings, conversations, chats, messages, etc. are ALL ad-free. Unlike Google+ and Facebook, MeWe is a website without commercial influence. That leaves us free to write, post, meet-up, chat, upload pics/clips/videos and more about pretty much anything when we adhere to common sense and follow the current laws of society.

With so many recent US and EU new requirements drowning social networking, Facebook and Google+ began to lose ground years ago, not to mention collecting numerous fines and lawsuits, and they continue to do so.

MeWe is fairly new, and in July 2018, it surpassed 2 million active members (many coming from Facebook and Google+), with rapid growth and it is predicted to reach millions more by 2021. For a complete paradigm shift in social networking standards, laws, requirements and infrastructure building, those are pretty awesome numbers.

I admit I was a bit overwhelmed on our MeWe homepage after logging in for the first time. As with anything, however, you need to spend a little time getting used to what’s in front of you. Once I did, I felt free and introduced MeWe to everyone at work – then we told our friends in the US. We live and work in the Northern Mariana Islands. I know, but someone has to live in a tropical paradise, right?

Some of MeWe’s features include:

  • No ads;
  • No spying;
  • No BS;
  • #Not4Sale (the members – we’re NOT for sale – think Instagram, Twitter, Google+ and Facebook are selling your personal data);
  • Unlimited group creation;
  • 1-on-1 private and open chats;
  • Open personal and group chats;
  • Disappearing content;
  • Custom camera w/GIF creation;
  • Live voice and video;
  • “Next-Gen” voice messaging;
  • Ultra secret chats with double-ratchet encryption (a paid feature add-on);
  • Custom personal and group profile creation;
  • Personal cloud storage;
  • Total control over your data and content – you own what you upload – period.
  • NO censorship (beyond societal requirements);
  • NO content manipulation;
  • NO news feed to push your content to the bottom of the page;
  • NO facial recognition;
  • Every public post, chat, image, video, comment, etc. is seen by all of your fellow MeWe members;
  • TRUE timeline ordering – with no outside interference;
  • Custom profile pics;
  • Custom banner images;
  • Notifications you customize;
  • Member suggestions for improvements, new features, etc. – that actually get applied;
  • The feedback that’s actually read and answered;
  • Events calendars;
  • Multi-language capable;
  • A separate “Pro” MeWe (mewepro.com), and so much more.

MeWe is browser-based, so it’s cross-platform: Windows, Mac, Linux, *iOS, *Android (*through free mobile apps or mobile browsers).

MeWe also has a store so members can purchase add-ons and features to personalize their MeWe experience without requiring a subscription fee. With so many free features, we’re quite happy with what we’ve been given already.

If you are looking (or someone you know is looking), for a Facebook alternative or as an alternative to Google Plus since the site is closing, you might want to try MeWe as a viable replacement. It’s free, private, and not too difficult to make the leap. We took a chance on this Next-Gen “2016 Innovative World Technology Finalist,” and we’re all glad we did. We’ve never looked back.

Everyone reading this should give MeWe a spin. It’s fresh and filled with features not found elsewhere. It costs nothing, is fun, exhilarating and an awesome alternative to Google Plus. You can choose the site as a Facebook alternative or use MeWe as an addition.

MeWe’s been around for about 4 years, starting out under another name and changing it to MeWe in 2016, receiving high praise and innovative technology recognition in that same year.

MeWe is edgy, smart, intuitive, and features rich content right from the start. There are many ways MeWe is better than other social networks. The most important is that MeWe was created by putting the privacy needs of its members FIRST! Mark Weinstein, founded MeWe with the belief social media isn’t for sale and neither is our privacy.

There’s no one looking over your shoulder as you work or play. There are no big corporations demanding advertising favors for support dollars. There’s no tracking, no commercial ads and no push toward corporate interests.

Everything you say, type, upload or produce, belongs to you. It’s never given away or sold to anyone. There’s no data mining of your personal information for private, corporate, or government agencies.

MeWe runs on Next Generation Technology (think 2G to 5G!). Using the power of next-gen tech is propelling MeWe to the forefront of social media worldwide. It’s been gaining momentum since the first day it went into operation.

If you want a fantastic alternative to Google Plus or an alternative to Facebook, or you just want another social media outlet, MeWe should be on your immediate things-to-do list.

MeWe is new, fresh, and social media 2.0 and beyond; better than Google Plus and Facebook; great fun for personal use; well suited to carry on business needs and collaboration in real-time – with NO big bro listening/tracking; has plenty of customizing features; runs smoother and faster than other social media network sites and has no corporations pushing THEIR products on to you.

Each of us at This Is Saipan & 15th Parallel Photography made the move to MeWe in 2016 and we haven’t looked back. MeWe is our social media home to post, play, discuss, educate and inform people of just about everything photography. We even started the MeWe group ‘Self-Taught Photographers,’ so anyone and everyone can ask us questions and learn about the joys of photography and how to get the most out of their DSLR.

Mark Weinstein and his team are showing the social media giants that dedication to the people and our privacy needs is far more rewarding than indulging in corporate greed. We agree. Seriously consider giving MeWe a try. You really can’t beat the price! MeWe is free!

15th Parallel Photography’s MeWe Homepage

MeWe Review: Your Facebook alternative
 

Author Bio: Alexa Shaw, Photographer Co-founder of This Is Saipan

I went from model to photographer because I DON’T like talking about myself, and because I love what photographs bring to the people who hire me.
 

Host blogger’s comments

As you see, Alexa gave a positive MeWe review. 

MeWe Awards

If you go to MeWe.com, you’ll see MeWe received many honors:

  • Startup of the Year Finalist
  • Best Entrepreneurial Companies in America
  • 2018: “One to Watch” TechTrends Report

Wrapping Up MeWe Review: Facebook Alternative An Introduction to MeWe

I have firmly maintained bloggers should use Facebook groups to promote their articles despite the accusations against Facebook regarding data breaches. Alexa offers a different perspective in this article.

If you, too, are concerned about Google+ closing and the potential for continual security problems using Facebook, consider using MeWe. Alexa presents MeWe has a viable Facebook alternative and one of the alternatives to Google Plus.

Readers, please share so other people concerned about data breaches read this MeWe review and consider using MeWe as an alternative to GooglePlus or as an alternative to Facebook.

I look forward to your views in the comments section. What is your opinion after reading this MeWe Review? Do you think you might consider giving MeWe a try?

UPDATES

July 2019 Update

MeWe announced it collected $4.5 million from high-net-worth investors and passed five million members.

Mark makes the case that Facebook should not be broken up by antitrust regulators– MeWe’s success proves that Facebook is not a monopoly.

More exciting news: MeWe is predicted to have 30 million members by the end of 2019, and 150 million by the end of 2020.

Update October 2019

According to MeWe’s David Westreich,

MeWe just announced it surpasses 6 million members and is named a 2019 “Best Entrepreneurial Company in America” by Entrepreneur magazine. 
Recently MeWe has ranked as a “Top 10” Social App and the #1 Trending Social App in the Google Play Store.

Here’s the press release: 
https://www.
prnewswire.com/news-releases/
facebook-competitor-mewe-
surpasses-6-million-members-
becomes-1-trending-social-app-
and-named-a-2019-best-
entrepreneurial-company-300930269.html


New announcements include:

MeWe expects over 100 million members by the end of 2020, having achieved 405% growth in 2018 and growing twice as fast on a daily basis in 2019

60% of MeWe’s traffic is international and 35% of members are active–exceeding industry standards.”

Additional Updates

December 2020 Update 2

In the days following the U.S. Presidential Election, many conservatives moved from Facebook to MeWe.

Look:

MeWe Review

According to MeWe’s announcement on November 9, MeWe became the #1 most downloaded Social Networking app at the iOS Store.

December 2020 Update 1

Despite people going to MeWe in record numbers, the site keeps getting accused of porn. A MeWe user posted a definition of porn in the comments and suggested the definition be put in the post to give clarity to this MeWe Review:

“That which is of or pertaining to obscene literature; obscene; licentious. Material is pornographic or obscene if the average person, applying contemporary community standards, would find that the work taken as a whole appeals to the prurient interest…” Source: Black’s Law Dictionary

MeWe Review Update

Since publishing this MeWe review, I discovered these emojis MeWe offers. You can use the emojis to tell people on the site what you’re eating, drinking, reading, hearing, and watching.

February 2020

MeWe users are writing to complain about negativity and spam at MeWe.

I only promote in MeWe groups. I have not encountered any spam. If I did, I would ignore it the way I do at LinkedIn where I encounter spam promotions regularly.

March 2020

MeWe responds to the Coronavirus by assisting in social distancing.

Social distancing is known to prevent the spread of the Coronavirus, so MeWe invented the first-ever dual-camera video on a social media site. This assists people in virtually communicating.

A 2020 Press Release also announced MeWe is beginning to use Stories.

Exciting: According to the Press Release, MeWe was named 2020 Most Innovative Social Media Company by Fast Company.

In March, MeWe also announced its user-base surpassed 7 million members.

April 2020

Look what happens when you have a connection request on MeWe:

MeWe Review

You are reminded of all the perks MeWe offers along with the notification of your connection request.

May 2020

Yesterday, someone found this MeWe review by typing this question into Google’s search bar:

“Is Mewe.com a scam or a legit company?”

Of course, MeWe is a legitimate company! I don’t know why people would think otherwise.

MeWe is a company run by Mark Weinstein and makes a great Facebook alternative.

June 2020

Since MeWe started in 2012, the site has continued strong.

Let me share some data:

Globally, Alexa has an Alexa rank of about 8,000 which means it’s one of the world’s best websites according to Alexa.com. More information about the Alexa rank can be found here.

July 2020

The Chicago Sun Times published a list of social media sites that could be potential Facebook replacements amidst Facebook’s troubles with advertisers pulling their revenue money.

MeWe was among the social media sites listed. According to CEO Mark Weinstein :

““We have all the features people love about social, great groups, private news feeds for close friends, and none of the BS,” he says. “There is no way for a marketer to target you.”

September 2020 Update 1

This review of MeWe social media mentioned MeWe groups. Did you know WebTalk and MeWe are cross-platform? WebTalk, another social media site for business people, holds its groups on MeWe’s social media platform.

Look:

MeWe

September 2020 Update 2

If you read the comments section, you’ll see MeWe users complained about the site.

Loyal MeWe user Alexa Shaw responded to those concerns:

Alexa Shaw back with the results of my poll/test in response to “Sheila” and her earlier writing about MeWe. Sheila wrote:

“Your MeWe review is by far not my experience after using MeWe for over two years.

It is slow, it takes ages to load, often the app is offline, content not loading, chats disappearing, I get ‘harassed’ by MeWe if I don’t want to upgrade while I type a message, groups often not refreshing, sometimes groups are not shown, lots of spam.

If you report, MeWe doesn’t do anything, it is not even following its own policy.

A lot of members use many accounts to cyberbully and harass, post illegal materials, post copyright materials, and reporting doesn’t help.

Mewe is protecting the hate spreaders and cyberbullies by its policy, and not protecting the victims.

Never experienced such a bad platform.

Facebook and Twitter might not be perfect, but at least they have dignity.”

So, I let Mostly Blogging’s readers know I’d be testing these claims and posting the results.

THE RESULTS ARE IN!

I posted what she wrote, on MeWe’s main page, on our pages: 15th Parallel Photography and our group: Self Taught Photographers.

With 163 total replies, the results are: 1 person said they had an issue with a stalker. She blocked him, reported him, and has never heard from him again.

The remaining 162 responses provided:

NO stalkers, no forced ads,

MeWe is not slow except on the phone app in the ‘Notifications’ section which takes time to load,

No one is being openly harassed,

No one has ever had chats or any other conversations “vanish” without being deleted by them, all groups that MeWe members have joined show at all times (unless of course you’re being bad or you whine a lot, in which case you get blocked by the Admin or Moderator),

No one gets “SPAMMED,” unless they press the wrong link and get into a “BOT” fight,

No one has reported MeWe’s owners or moderators blatantly or deliberately failing to follow their own policies and DO enforce the rules as stated.

No one has ever witnessed/noticed MeWe members creating MeWe pages or profiles with the sole, or shared, intent to cyberbully or harass someone else.

MeWe members report they have never witnessed “dignity,” “respect,” or “victim protections” on Facebook or Twitter,

Nor compliance with laws or policies, frequently changing these same rules without notice to the subscriber

No one that responded has ever witnessed a MeWe member posting “illegal materials,” other than posts that contain “copyrighted” materials that do not provide credit to the owner(s) of the material and do not fall within the legal parameters allowed by US Copyright laws of being newsworthy, educational or beneficial to society as a whole.

These are the results I collected since the day Sheila posted her claims. I hope these results help clarify what she has said and based on these results it clearly shows a different outcome.

Alexa Shaw

October 2020 Update

Look:

MeWe reviews 2018

According to the screenshot, the Exploding Topics website shows MeWe’s growth at 1100%.

MeWe Review: FAQ

Is MeWe really private?

Yes! MeWe assures users they will never sell your data. Founder Mark Weinstein started MeWe with this promise.

Does Facebook own MeWe?

No.

Who owns MeWe?

Mark Weinstein is MeWe’s founder.

What can you do with the MeWe app?

The app makes using MeWe convenient since you can access the site on your mobile device.

Related Reading

Livinvia is another new social media site: Why Livinvia is social media similar to Facebook.

  1. Jeanette S. Hall

    Used it a while back, like a couple of years ago. Don’t even remember my user information. Was not a good fit for me, personally.

  2. Janice Wald

    Hi Jeanette,
    Thanks for contributing to the discussion by commenting. I didn’t realize the site was that old. Some people may find they like it so it’s good people know their options.
    Janice

    • Arthur Flores

      Hello Janice,

      I want MeWe to have a dark background or theme. I noticed your comment to Jeanette is grey. Is there a way to have grey background in MeWe?

      • Karen B. Proctor

        You have to pay to have any extras. They don’t seem to be much, but they aren’t free.

      • Janice Wald

        Hi Arthur,
        I’m sorry I never responded. You liked the gray background in which I replied to a commenter on my blog. My technical helper Phillip Dews built me a custom theme. If you are interested, let me know and I’ll give you his contact information.
        Janice

  3. Philip V Ariel

    Hi Janice,
    Good to read Alexa’s wonderful review about MeWe. 🙂
    He shared almost everything about MeWe and its wonderful features. I am already there and happy to read this post too.
    Thanks, Alexa for this wonderful share the best alternative to G+ as it is soon going to die!
    Thanks, Janice for the share of Alexa I am at #MeWe @ philipvergheseariel please join me. Thanks
    Keep sharing.
    Best Regards

    • Robb Simpson

      You, like far FAR too many other MeWe “members”, are not actually using the platform. Perhaps I am ignorant of MeWe’s potential, but I visited your profile and found nothing more than a couple of nice pictures and some biographical details. If there is anything positive about that, at least you put in a little bit of effort to personalize your profile.

      Join MeWe! Just don’t use it. 6 million members doesn’t mean anything if those members just fill out a form and ignore it!
      I joined. I use it frequently. I love the concept and promote -Push!- MeWe on my FB account. Get Active!!

      • Sheila

        After using mewe, I deleted it. It was full of people that spread hate, post illegal stuff and a lot of cyberbullying (is like that all people that want to hurt others are on mewe). So women unfriendly. That such platform is promoted

        • Janice Wald

          Hi Sheila,
          I was sad when I read your comments. I am sorry you had such negative experiences at MeWe.
          As a blogging tips blogger, I try to let people know about new possibilities they can take advantage of on the internet.
          Your comments made me think about whether providing awareness equals providing a recommendation.
          That said, I use MeWe regularly and I have never had your negative experiences. I am guessing it’s because I only post content in groups I’m familiar with. I like the link from MeWe. If I had problems, I wouldn’t return to the groups.
          Thanks for letting my readers know about the negative side to MeWe.
          Janice

          • Alexa Shaw

            After reading “Sheila’s” February 2, 2020 post, I just couldn’t help but wonder….was she on MeWe, or did she log into her Facebook account?
            .
            While I’ve been a member of FB and MeWe for many years, I was bullied by once in all of the years I’ve been a member of MeWe. My grandpa, former Army soldier and SID Investigator, stepped in and solved the issue in a matter of days. Bobb the bully is long gone.
            .
            I’ve NEVER suffered any of what Sheila writes about. We even run a “Self Taught Photographer’s” group (https://mewe.com/join/self-taught_photographers), and we have RULES! They are very specific and very, very strict. You agree to follow them or you’re declined – period.
            .
            It’s sad Sheila had such a poor experience and deleted her MeWe account. Without knowing the facts and ensuing communications it’s impossible to know what happened to cause that situation. As grandpa has said: “everyone will tell you there is ‘the’ TRUTH and only the truth. Which in itself is a LIE. Others will tell you there are only two sides to a story.” Again, he will tell you that is also a LIE.
            .
            In all situations there are three sides to any truth and three sides to any story. This gave me pause when he first said it to me. After all, everyone knows there are only TWO sides to anything, or so I thought. I’ve since gained more respect for him and opened my mind to see, hear and learn, rather than accept what was taught to me as a child, as being the only way.
            .
            Have I kept you in suspense long enough? Do you want to gain insight just as I did? Here it is, in your face! The misconception of two sides is a lie and I’m about to explain how this is true.
            .
            First, there is MY truth. The story as I want it told. Second, is YOUR truth. The way YOU want to be perceived – hero, victim, etc. Then, there is the last truth. The one based NOT on feelings, emotions, personal beliefs or opinions. The only one that counts, is the TRUTH based on neutral, proven, imperial facts and only the facts. No emotions, feelings, personal bias or prejudices. Just cold as steel, in your face facts.
            .
            Think about the word HISTORY. By itself it’s harmless. Look closer and you begin to see the lie. History or HIS STORY. The events of the past based not on facts, but conjecture. To the victor go the spoils, is a phrase I have heard many times over. So, who writes the story about our past? Well, the VICTORS, (or conquerors as grandpa puts it), of battle of course.
            .
            When I read about Sheila’s issues on MeWe I couldn’t help but think about which truth I was reading. I’ll leave all of you to decide. I’m a woman, on MeWe and have had only ONE person in more than 4 years dare attack me on MeWe. Then again, I’m a member of very few groups and those groups have values similar to ours.
            .
            Oh, and just to update everyone, I found the following article about MeWe posted February 5, 2020:
            https://www.onenewspage.com/n/Technology/1zlqhn80uz/Facebook-challenger-MeWe-reveals-revenue-jumped-800-last.htm.

            Enjoy,
            Alexa Shaw
            Professional Photographer

          • Janice Wald

            Hi Alexa,
            Thank you for coming by and defending your article. My experience is like yours: I use the groups and I have never had a problem.
            Janice

          • Alexa Shaw

            Thanks Janice.
            .
            We’ve had a pretty hard time here. In Aug 2015, we were hit by our first SUPER typhoon (sustained winds exceed 150 mph), and shortly thereafter, the owner/landlord raised rent rates by “note” under the door (knowing no one could move).
            .
            In Oct 2018, we were hit by our second SUPER typhoon. Right at the same time, yep, you guessed it, the owner/landlord threatened to throw everyone out if they didn’t accept his “note” rent increases – again. And where would we go exactly? We hadn’t recovered from #1.
            .
            Wouldn’t you know it, Oct 2019, our third SUPER typhoon hit and yep, another “note” with a threat to evict. No increase this time. Just get out by Halloween. These acts and veiled threats are illegal in the US. So, grandpa and I had enough. January 27, 2020 we filed a suit hoping to expose and stop all of this garbage. Win or lose, this man’s actions will become part of the public record. ALL of his ‘under-the-table’ dealings from 2015 through the end of the suit will be put on the docket, provided the court accepts our initial petition (grandpa is former SF and Army SID Investigator).
            .
            And what about all of our landlord/owner’s ‘note-style’ rent increases he very likely didn’t report as income..what do you suppose the IRS will think about that?
            .
            It’s been a struggle and a huge battle these last four years. FEMA declared Saipan a “national disaster” and reported it would take 15 years or more to fully rebuild, assuming NO more storm damages occur in that time frame. They also reported 97.3% total property losses and damages that will cost more than $$$$ 9.5 BILLION DOLLARS! When I walk through town I see homes and businesses from 2015, still lying in rubble right where they were erased.
            .
            So, where exactly are we to move? Oddly enough, after each typhoon hit, the surviving building owners & landlords increased rent rates, exponentially. I’m talking 2,3, and even 4 times pre-typhoon rates. Price gouging much?
            .
            Like all of the islanders here, we’ll fight and move forward as best we can. The one truly glaring issue in all of this: There are NO tenant-landlord or real estate lawyers on Saipan. We looked as far away as Hawaii. NONE for the Mariana Islands. A world tourist & vacation location with hotels, motels, rental houses and apartment buildings and ZERO expert lawyers in these fields. I mean, WHAT?
            .
            MeWe has been my refuge and place of solitude in all of this, well – crap! Without my ‘Self Taught Photographers Group,’ my grandpa and a few internet movies/TV shows, I would’ve crumbled long ago.
            .
            Great you’re still blogging out here. I keep sharing my experiences on MeWe with others and I’m continuously getting updates from others that read, and have been encouraged by my initial article. Keep moving forward and the dust won’t stick!
            .
            Alexa Shaw, Professional Photographer

          • Janice Wald

            Hi Alexa,
            That is a beautiful testimonial as to why we need social media sites like MeWe.
            Janice

          • Alexa Shaw

            Thanks Janice,

            We’ve enjoyed, and continue to enjoy, our time on MeWe. We’ll keep posting and sharing here and on MeWe and, in spite of the long road ahead, we’ll do our best to help others find their way, so they too, can reap the benefits of social networking without interfering commercial advertising.

            We’re also doing our best to restructure our websites (when time allows), to allow easier access for those individuals that simply must use a phone rather than a computer. Our images will NOT, however, be reduced in size. They will always remain 1600px or more. For the immediate future, we’re doing our best to find a new home for our business and us. That takes priority. We hope to win our Court action but one never knows these days.

            Enjoy and for those that live in the north, try to keep indoors and stay active. Keep out of the cold – wait for Spring!

          • Janice Wald

            Hi Alexa,
            Thanks for helping my readers on their journey as they explore MeWe.
            Janice

  4. Philip V Ariel

    Hi Janice,
    What a joy to be here again
    I am so glad to say that this post has been mentioned in my latest post.
    Thanks, Alexa for an in-depth review of this wonderful platform! No doubt its features are really wonderful and its clutter-free look is really enchanting.
    Keep writing
    Keep sharing
    Regards
    ~ Philip

  5. Pingback: MeWe - An Alternative To Google+ And Facebook ~ Philipscom
  6. Leslianne

    I really like Mewe, finding groups can take a fair bit of time and only because there are so many and even more sub groups, the privacy is outstanding, and the people there are nothing like the rude and ignorant type you run into on Facebook or on Google+ also don’t have to worry about strangers being offended by what you say or your content and reporting you, there are no friend suggestions so you are anonymous until you personally add someone to your list, I blog adult content and photo adult content, no fear of a minor finding my Mewe page or any of my content, this truly is social media at the next level, I have been migrating my FB to Mewe and will be dumping FB shortly

    • Janice Wald

      Hi Leslianne,
      Nice to “meet” you. Thanks for writing with this testimonial about the value of MeWe.
      Janice

  7. Davida Chazan

    I joined and I’m already not impressed. Two of the groups I signed up with had SPAM posts (with inappropriate pictures) front and center within the first 15 minutes of my being on the site.

    The idea is fine, but unless people moderate their groups better, then it will be rendered totally useless almost immediately!

  8. Alexa Shaw, Photographer

    WOW! Janice,

    Thanks so much for posting my review on MeWe. Its been a bit hectic around here of recent days – Grandpa’s “Brad Nailer” is dying a slow & grizzly death. He’s been running around like a chicken without a head! It’s hilarious. So many projects for the office, apartment and some photography projects he’d like to get done before summer and his favorite nail gun wants die. He’s ordered a new one, but..

    I’m really glad some of my words have helped others. As for the person that ran into “PORN” I can only add, “you should have looked before you clicked.” Yes, adult pages exist on MeWe – kinda goes along with the whole “privacy” thing, yes? We’ve been here for 2+ years and have NEVER received SPAM or PORN. We check every profile BEFORE accepting or approving – period. As for the SPAM, once again, looking before clicking that subscribe or join button may prevent that.

    And for the nice gentleman with the pleasant comments on my review, I’m NOT a man – I’m a WOMAN, thus the name AlexA with an ‘A’ at the end. Easy mistake. You should see it when Grandpa gets referred to as – yep, a woman. You could probably cook eggs on his forehead. You would think with a name like CRAIG people would know, but then again it’s all about looking AND seeing – yes?

    I’m really glad I could help people find a new social media home. Thanks to everyone for leaving those wonderful comments. And thanks again, Janice, for asking me to write about MeWe. It’s been a long time since I actually wrote something longer than replies like this one. Oh, and I fixed part of our website and put some random pics up for viewing. Still working on getting that ransomware completely out of our system, especially our NAS.

    • Sheila

      Deae Alexa,

      Thanks for your view.

      In essence, under normal conditions it is correct as most people want to use MEWE as what it is meant for. This is the surface, underneath the surface there is more.
      As I am (model) photographer i thought MEWE was nice to help my business, But I stopped it, due to my experience and several of my models. Since then I did some research and spoke with several people on about their experience. I got over thousands of screenshots since then of what some experience on MEWE, and it goes from child p*** to revenge p***, photos copied from Instagram, Onlyfans, even with clear copyright signs on the photos to racial slur against certain populations of people. Groups specially set up for revenge p*** and adding as much as possible people then inviting the girls to the group so they can make fun of it. They post girls private information, fb accounts so they can be harassed, blackmailed (all with screenshots out of mewe). Those girls report what they can but mewe is not acting and if so those cyberbullies can make new with same email address, etc.
      Like you said, the admin or creator play an essential role, but if they want to allow such things, options in mewe is limited. Do you know how some of these girls feel if they see their children being posted in revenge porn groups that are not being taking offline by mewe for over 6 months and family are being informed on this as it is also published in those groups? Girls are taking their lives because of such things. When that was posted in a group, they laughed about it in these groups
      If we talk about privacy, what privacy are we talking about, privacy of a victim or the 1 posting? As Facebook is restricting this, so those cyberbullies turn to MEWE as they feel safe in MEWE and think they can do, post and say anything they want.
      I know this is a minority of what is on mewe, but something that should be more in the spotlight, for those victims.
      It is not only gold that shines, there is a dark side.

      • MrDegenerate

        ORLY? I call BS.

        “Over thousands of screenshots”, eh?

        k

        Here’s the thing, people on MeWe are just that. People. Being themselves. MeWe does not promote hateful activity in any way. Quite the opposite, in fact. Their whole schtick is based upon honestly and love. They take a mostly Libertarian approach to moderation, however: let the people decide. Still, I have never seen anything illegal there (save for some drug related rhetoric…oh noes!) and I poke around a lot. I *have* seen what I consider to be tasteless and uncouth, but MeWe are doing exactly what they should to foster a reasonable environment and avoid stifling free speech at the same time.

        So…do you do this IRL, as well? Exaggerate negativity that you see in an effort to create faux drama? And let’s pretend for a moment that you DO have “over thousands” of screenshots of illegalities. Erm…just what exactly are you doing with all of that? Hmmmm?

    • MrDegenerate

      ORLY? I call BS.

      “Over thousands of screenshots”, eh?

      k

      Here’s the thing, people on MeWe are just that. People. Being themselves. MeWe does not promote hateful activity in any way. Quite the opposite, in fact. Their whole schtick is based upon honestly and love. They take a mostly Libertarian approach to moderation, however: let the people decide. Still, I have never seen anything illegal there (save for some drug related rhetoric…oh noes!) and I poke around a lot. I *have* seen what I consider to be tasteless and uncouth, but MeWe are doing exactly what they should to foster a reasonable environment and avoid stifling free speech at the same time.

      So…do you do this IRL, as well? Exaggerate negativity that you see in an effort to create faux drama? And let’s pretend for a moment that you DO have “over thousands” of screenshots of illegalities. Erm…just what exactly are you doing with all of that? Hmmmm?

  9. Lala

    I looked into it and was trying to figure out whether to use it or not. Thanks for the information! I might give it a go:)

  10. Martin Lindeskog

    Janice: I will check out MeWe. I will not leave Facebook. How will MeWe make money?

    All the Best,

    Martin

    • Janice Wald

      Hi Martin,
      Great to see you! Thanks for commenting on my MeWE article.
      I Googled it:
      MeWe makes money the same way offline companies have always made money; by offering optional services that enhance the lives and experiences of our members. Additionally, members can purchase up to 500GB of data storage, enjoy helpful private group apps from the MeWe App Store, print their pictures (we’ve partnered with Walgreens in the USA), select coupons, and more.
      I’m also still in the process of checking out the new site. The post was written by a guest author. Thanks for coming by.
      Janice

  11. Philip V Ariel

    Hi Janice,
    Thanks for the facebook notification, sorry I was a bit busy and was away from FB as well as other blogs and platforms, I am just back and noticed your response to my comment. Will just post the link too. You have been mentioned in here: Here is the link: https://www.pvariel.com/mewe-an-alternative-to-google-and-facebook/
    Thanks
    Have a wonderful week ahead.
    Keep sharing.
    Regards
    ~ Philip

  12. A. Garcia

    This looks interesting. I deleted my farcebook account two years ago. I’ve been using IG, and although it still has a simple interface, and is relatively easy to find the people who I actually know in the “real” world there, I am not feeling very good about their acquisition by fb. I don’t want to put any more money in zuckerbergs pockets if I can help it.
    Perhaps my wife and I will give MeWe a trial run.

    • Janice Wald

      Hi,
      Thanks for writing to tell me your concerns over Facebook and your feelings about Instagram. Although I’ve barely dipped my toes into MeWe’s waters, (the post was written by a guest author), many of my friends are using MeWe and seem happy. Let me know what you think of it.
      Janice

  13. Robb Simpson

    I joined MeWe back in July when a FB “friend” posted something about it. The entire concept of the platform is perfect! I am on MeWe daily (as much as I was on that dastardly FB!) I promote MeWe on my FB account. In fact, that is the only thing I post there.

    My one and only issue is that of the supposed 6 million members, I would be surprised that the 35% mentioned are truly active in the space. I have searched names and interests and locales. I am now utterly sick of seeing a profile pic of a smiling slice of bread or taco. And the banner pic of a lonely hill at sunset is depressing.

    For MeWe to make an actual impact on social media, members need to become Active! Post your pics! Share that meme! Say Something! …heck, if anything, change your freaking profile image and banner pic, for crying out loud!…

  14. carlin

    has anyone heard of http://www.YouWeb.org? is it THE perfect alternative to facebook. but everybody else needs to know about it so that it can become an active social network! join YouWeb everybody. i think you’ll like it 🙂

    • Robb Simpson

      Initially, it looked, what? promising?
      Then, I read their Terms of Service and -more importantly- their Privacy Policy.
      The Privacy Policy is the worst written legal document I have ever seen. It is even more convoluted than any legal “read me” doc I I have seen on the ‘net. A great example of the horrid wording taken from a section “How to control cookies?”
      “You can check and / or check the cookies as you wish…”
      Check and / or check?? Really??!!
      It goes on and on about the collection of data about The User (YOU), how, what and where such data is collected etc etc etc ad nauseum.

      No. YouWeb is a Facebook wannabe. It states that advertising will be found AND that the ads will be targeted based upon data collected about you. Might as well stay with FB.
      I sticking with MeWe. They appear to be straight shooters and don’t fiddle around with BS.

    • Janice Wald

      Hi Carlin,
      I haven’t heard of YouWeb. Apparently, you and Robb have. I assume it’s a social media site. I looked it up. There are many monthly searches for info about it.
      Janice

  15. Nnyan

    I love how excited you are about MeWe expected to have 30 million users by the end of 2019! And they with bated breath exclaim the awesomeness of it actually having 6 million users in that time period. But no worries it should NOW have 100 million (revised down from 150) by the end of 2020! HOW exciting!

    In case you didn’t know I very much doubt that MeWe has anything close to 6 million active users. Sure they maybe have 6 million accounts created, but many of these signed up, looked around and never logged back in again. MeWe has already started down the path of an alt-right haven (just look around the groups and come up with your own opinion) and whatever claims the creator has about privacy this is just a well-established fact if you do not moderate anyone or anything then your community quickly becomes a cesspool of the worst in humanity. And yes it’s been shown time and time again how the average person just absolutely L O V E S to spend time in those types of environments. Yeah! I’m not sure how you are paid to shill for MeWe or Weme or whatever but just stop.

    • Alexa Shaw

      It’s pretty easy. Just like most other social media sites, you sign up, fill in your profile and browse for groups that interest you. Be forewarned: MeWe is a strong prompter and supporter of NO CENSORSHIP!

      If you run across groups that provide adult content and you don’t want it, don’t go there! I also recommend going to your “profile page,” clicking on your tiny profile pic in the upper right corner and scrolling to, and clicking on: “Privacy & Sharing” in the drop-down list. These parameters will further limit to number and type of contact requests you’ll receive.

      Hi I’m Alexa Shaw, a long time member of MeWe. I run a photographers’ group on MeWe and have had only ONE incident in all of the years “WE” have been on MeWe. Go to: https://www.mewe.com and sign up. Then follow the steps which will get you started.

  16. w vd

    i like to tell you that mewe makes updates often and even when your ok with all you do and no illegal stuff you get a Ban and loos all your contacts and rooms/groups your in,, and this every 2 mounts,– sad..
    i had a lot of nice contacts but lost all now,, and after a remake of profile (WITH AGAIN a new e-mail address – old one is blocked after remove from mewe through update) ,, i never can go back to the old groups,, even with a search i can no longer find them, strange behavier of Mewe i think..
    so be carefull, WRITE all contact names on paper and groups/rooms to ,, maybe you can find them some day again.. i forgot it,, (((( — and they keep your e-mails in a kind of list on where you can not use them again,,

  17. Alexa Shaw

    We’ve been members for FOUR (4) YEARS and have never had anything deleted by MeWe during an update or at any other time. “WE” have 3-MeWe accounts. One for each of our endeavors: Business, Educational-Nonprofit and Nonprofit, respectively.

    No one at 15th Parallel has ever had to sign up more than once. No one here has ever been blocked, deleted or otherwise removed by MeWe – updates or not. No contacts have ever been blocked “WITHOUT” our consent. We’ve blocked numerous “porn” mongers ourselves and will continue to do so. We’ve never had any groups be blocked or deleted by MeWe. We’ve never been banned by MeWe. Then again, we’re really good people…honestly…okay, grandpa can be bit edgy at times, but that’s not the point here.

    I can’t help but wonder if you’re using “public” WiFi or a “shared” IP address or service whereby someone on that connection DID do something nefarious or somehow violated the rules of social media. Perhaps, your IP address, or anyone’s really, has been hacked/piggy-backed (use of another person’s signal for anonymity).

    In any case, it may have been prudent to start by writing/contacting MeWe’s Gurus or Site Techs first (no mention of you doing this in your post). You could’ve reached out to others on the Net (Google is easy to use), to ask if anyone else had experienced similar events (no mention of you doing this either).

    As a final idea, contacting your service provider to have them run a simple line check for RF signal “leaks” on your connection may have helped as well, provided your connection is a single home line (which means not shared with others). Leaks of this type can indicate your service may have been hacked, or if you use one, your router/range extender (Yes, it happens. We have 256 bit DOD encryption. Thanks grandpa!).

    In reading your post, I can’t help thinking something truly important has been omitted, yet is likely very necessary to gain full insight into your issues. For now, at least, I just can’t seem to narrow down what that may be – yet. I’ll need to “mull it over” (as grandpa says), and develop a critical hypothesis. With 3 separate accounts, at more than four years, all doing different things and running our own group, I’ve never heard of anyone, other than you ‘W VD,’ having these problems. I’ll forward your post/concerns to groups we share with to see if anyone else has had similar issues.

    Alexa Shaw, Photographer

    • Janice Wald

      Hi Alexa,
      As for me, I’ve never had anything deleted or run into these problems either.
      Thanks for coming by and setting the record straight about MeWe.
      Janice

      • Alexa Shaw

        Thanks, Janice.
        .
        It’s always a pleasure receive comments and to know MeWe is doing quite well.
        .
        ~Alexa

    • Wvd V

      i have done everything to check why and how it works even with my provider and all is ok, no leaks or anything,, still can no longer login or make a new profile,, on the site,,
      is my IP address maybe blocked bij your provider or site people?

      • Alexa

        I honestly don’t believe you have my service provider. I get my internet connection from Guam, USA.

        You could try to contact the owners of MeWe and provide your IP address. You can also try using a browser extension. For Firefox it’s BROWSEC. It’s free and semi-automatic (addons.mozilla.org). It will change your IP simply by selecting a new “country.” You’ll find the icon in your top bar. Click it and a dialog box pops up. Click on the on/off switch in the bottom of the pop-dialog box, to turn it on, select a country – IGNORE the premium ads and try to connect to MeWe using the vpn extension. We’re using it because, for some unknown reason, EBAY has decided our IP address (on certain days), is not approved. Browsec is also available on Chrome as an extension.

        And, another method would be to go to a friends house – must be different IP, to see if you can sign up from there. If you can, write to MeWe directly and have them fix your IP to being accepted on their system.

        We’re professional photographers. We don’t work for, nor are we associated with, MeWe, other than being “members” of the social media website.

        Hope these suggestions help.

        Alexa Shaw

        • Janice Wald

          Thanks for helping Alexa. You gave the commenter great advice.
          Janice

        • Leslie

          I would advise caution in using a public proxy service, especially if one is sending credentials through it.

          • Alexa Shaw

            First, the short answer. BROWSEC is not a public proxy. It’s a VPN filter for Firefox and Firefox compatibles.

            Second, the longer answer on contacting the owners of MeWe. I’m not sure about the owners, however, Mark Weinstein is the creator of MeWe and top admin. Contact at: mark@mewe.com, would be first try. Also, if this fails, you can try contact through MeWe’s “Feedback” box at: https://mewe.com/group/55f9dd29e4b050c69e693558. In the box you’ll see a tiny downward pointing triangle. Click on this and choose the type of message you’d like to send.

            Be aware, lots of emails are sent everyday – SO – if you don’t get a reply as fast as you want it, suck it up and BE PATIENT!
            .
            Thanks for reading! 🙂

        • Leslie

          Alexa:

          Please provide the method you recommend for someone to “contact the owners of MeWe.”

          Thank you.

          • Mary Tuttle

            I would like to know how to get some help but cannot find a “contact us” link on any page. I signed up a year ago. Went back on a few weeks ago and could not get logged on even though my password, et al, was saved. I had to create a new account and STILL cannot get on. Would LOVE to get some help. NOT a very user friendly site!

  18. w f van der vaart

    sad.. i was on Mewe After mounts not able to be on it,, and what happend,, next day i was OFF again,, never got a reason why,, nobody explained,,
    so ,,, OR i am Hacked with some program/ maleware that put me off everytime OR they keep IP addresses in store at Mewe and always Ban you as soon as you come back from your ip address,
    realy sad,, its A BAD program now even more than FB ,,

    • Janice Wald

      Hi,
      Thanks for expressing your concerns.
      MeWe user Alexa responded to some of the MeWe concerns expressed here in the comments section:

      Alexa Shaw back with the results of my poll/test in response to “Sheila” and her earlier writing about MeWe. Sheila wrote:

      “Your review is by far not my experience after using mewe for over 2 years. It is slow, it takes ages to load, often the app is offline, content not loading, chats disappearing, i get ‘harassed’ by mewe if I don’t want to upgrade while I type a message, groups often not refreshing, sometimes groups are not shown, lot of spam. If you report, mewe doesn’t do anything, it is not even following its own policy. A lot of members use many accounts to cyberbully and harass, post illegal materials, post copyright materials, and reporting doesn’t help. Mewe is protecting the hate spreaders and cyberbullies by its policy, and not protecting the victims. Never experienced such a bad platform.
      Facebook and twitter might not be perfect, but at least they have dignity.”

      So, I let Mostly Blogging’s readers know I’d be testing these claims and posting the results.

      THE RESULTS ARE IN!

      I posted what she wrote, on MeWe’s main page, on our pages: 15th Parallel Photography and our group: Self Taught Photographers. With 163 total replies, the results are: 1 person said they had an issue with a stalker. She blocked him, reported him and has never heard from him again.
      The remaining 162 responses provided: NO stalkers, no forced ads, MeWe is not slow except on the phone app in the ‘Notifications’ section which takes time to load, no one is being openly harassed, no one has ever had chats or any other conversations “vanish” without being deleted by them, all groups that MeWe members have joined show at all times (unless of course you’re being bad or you whine a lot, in which case you get blocked by the Admin or Moderator), no one gets “SPAMMED,” unless they press the wrong link and get into a “BOT” fight, no one has reported MeWe’s owners or moderators blatantly or deliberately failing to follow their own policies and DO enforce the rules as stated.
      No one has ever witnessed/noticed MeWe members creating MeWe pages or profiles with the sole, or shared, intent to cyberbully or harass someone else. MeWe members report they have never witnessed “dignity,” “respect,” or “victim protections” on FB or Twitter, nor compliance with laws or policies, frequently changing these same rules without notice to the subscriber and no one that responded has ever witnessed a MeWe member posting “illegal materials,” other than posts that contain “copyrighted” materials that do not provide credit to the owner(s) of the material and do not fall within the legal parameters allowed by US Copyright laws of being newsworthy, educational or beneficial to society as a whole.
      These are the results I collected since the day Sheila posted her claims. I hope these results help clarify what she has said, and based on these results it clearly shows a different outcome.

      Alexa Shaw

  19. sheila

    Your review is by far not my experience after using mewe for over 2 years. It is slow, it takes ages to load, often the app is offline, content not loading, chats disappearing, i get ‘harassed’ by mewe if I don’t want to upgrade while I type a message, groups often not refreshing, sometimes groups are not shown, lot of spam. If you report, mewe doesn’t do anything, it is not even following its own policy. A lot of members use many accounts to cyberbully and harass, post illegal materials, post copyright materials, and reporting doesn’t help. Mewe is protecting the hate spreaders and cyberbullies by its policy, and not protecting the victims. Never experienced such a bad platform.
    Facebook and twitter might not be perfect, but at least they have dignity.

    • Janice Wald

      Hi Sheila,
      I’m sorry you had bad experiences at MeWe.

      Alexa Shaw responded to your concerns. I’m pasting here what she wrote to you and others with these complaints:

      Alexa Shaw back with the results of my poll/test in response to “Sheila” and her earlier writing about MeWe. Sheila wrote:

      “Your review is by far not my experience after using mewe for over 2 years. It is slow, it takes ages to load, often the app is offline, content not loading, chats disappearing, i get ‘harassed’ by mewe if I don’t want to upgrade while I type a message, groups often not refreshing, sometimes groups are not shown, lot of spam. If you report, mewe doesn’t do anything, it is not even following its own policy. A lot of members use many accounts to cyberbully and harass, post illegal materials, post copyright materials, and reporting doesn’t help. Mewe is protecting the hate spreaders and cyberbullies by its policy, and not protecting the victims. Never experienced such a bad platform.
      Facebook and twitter might not be perfect, but at least they have dignity.”

      So, I let Mostly Blogging’s readers know I’d be testing these claims and posting the results.

      THE RESULTS ARE IN!

      I posted what she wrote, on MeWe’s main page, on our pages: 15th Parallel Photography and our group: Self Taught Photographers. With 163 total replies, the results are: 1 person said they had an issue with a stalker. She blocked him, reported him and has never heard from him again.

      The remaining 162 responses provided: NO stalkers, no forced ads, MeWe is not slow except on the phone app in the ‘Notifications’ section which takes time to load, no one is being openly harassed, no one has ever had chats or any other conversations “vanish” without being deleted by them, all groups that MeWe members have joined show at all times (unless of course you’re being bad or you whine a lot, in which case you get blocked by the Admin or Moderator), no one gets “SPAMMED,” unless they press the wrong link and get into a “BOT” fight, no one has reported MeWe’s owners or moderators blatantly or deliberately failing to follow their own policies and DO enforce the rules as stated.

      No one has ever witnessed/noticed MeWe members creating MeWe pages or profiles with the sole, or shared, intent to cyberbully or harass someone else. MeWe members report they have never witnessed “dignity,” “respect,” or “victim protections” on FB or Twitter, nor compliance with laws or policies, frequently changing these same rules without notice to the subscriber and no one that responded has ever witnessed a MeWe member posting “illegal materials,” other than posts that contain “copyrighted” materials that do not provide credit to the owner(s) of the material and do not fall within the legal parameters allowed by US Copyright laws of being newsworthy, educational or beneficial to society as a whole.

      These are the results I collected since the day Sheila posted her claims. I hope these results help clarify what she has said, and based on these results it clearly shows a different outcome.

      Alexa Shaw

  20. San Carlo

    Still trying to figger out how these things work. Tek nelly challenged? Perhaps, but hoping to re solve my plobrems in order to participate.

    • Janice Wald

      Hi,
      Thank you for reaching out.
      What questions about MeWe can we answer for you?
      Janice

  21. Mary Tuttle

    I would like to know how to get some help but cannot find a “contact us” link on any page. I signed up a year ago. Went back on a few weeks ago and could not get logged on even though my password, et al, was saved. I had to create a new account and STILL cannot get on. Would LOVE to get some help. NOT a very user friendly site!

    • Alexa Shaw

      Not all social sites have a “Contact Us” per se. MeWe, at the bottom of the “main” sign-up page has a “Help Center.” Left-click on that and you are taken to, you guessed it, the Help Center. Once there, you can choose either “SEARCH” or “USING MEWE.”
      .
      Having signed up ONE YEAR ago and never having signed back in may tell you something about your account. It is highly likely you’ll need to create a NEW account. When I say NEW account I mean you’ll need to use a Mac or PC, NEW username and NEW email address. You’ll also need to choose a NEW password. These must ALL be NEW, not re-used. It is also best to rely on an Ethernet connection (that means wired to the Net, not WiFi), when reapplying. You might even use a different IP address, say a neighbor, family member or friend.
      .
      We recently ran into problems with our service provider and had fix everything from another IP address which was the fault of the provider and not MeWe. By changing everything and signing in more often than once in a blue moon, your account will likely remain active.
      .
      If, all of this work has provided you with a new account, you will then be free to return to your own home/business connection. PLEASE! DO NOT USE a CELL PHONE to do all of this work. The screens are simply not big enough, unless you have a 20″ cell phone screen!
      .
      Once you are logged in and you’re on the MeWe home page, not your profile, you’ll see on the right hand side of the screen a window titled PHOTOSTREAM. At the very bottom of the window you’ll see FEEDBACK. Left-click it and a new dialog box or window will open. You’ll then be presented with a dropdown menu with to choose from. Make your choice and fill in the message box with what you wish to address and send it away when you’re done.
      .
      If Janice will allow my email address to be posted, it is: alexa@15thparallelphotography.com and you can then ask me further questions directly if you get lost. I’m willing to help you find your way into this wonderful world free of ads, clutter, bullies and stalkers!
      .
      Alexa Shaw, Photographer

  22. jenshadus

    I just got an email that MeWe is Chinese and used to spy on this. The source ‘friend’ is suspect but never hurst to verify.

  23. Alexa Shaw

    I’m pretty sure the creator, Mark Weinstein (I believe this is ‘Hebrew’), isn’t Chinese. I’m also under the impression you meant to “spy on us” and not “this”?! Since this is an American/European based company, it’s unlikely it’s Chinese.

  24. Alexa Shaw

    Part One of Two: Alexa’s Reply
    November 17, 2020 – Mostly Blogging Post:
    .
    This is in response to a post by “Sheila” that begins with:
    .
    “Deae Alexa,

    Thanks for your view.

    In essence, under normal conditions it is correct as most people want to use MEWE as what it is meant for. This is the surface, underneath the surface there is more.”
    .
    =========================================================================
    .
    Hi Sheila,
    .
    I just received (November 17, 2020), your Mostly Blogging post in my email this morning. I must say, I’m quite disappointed with your unfounded claims. The response is going to be a two-part reply. One from ME, the other from my grandpa since a lot of what you claimed falls way outside of my purview and such claims require an in-depth understanding of the law of which I do not have, nor do I wish to do so. For that reason, the law stuff is being handed off to him, the guy with the PhD and Law Degree (among other degrees), as well as many years of law enforcement/investigation he has performed – military and civilian.
    .
    First, after your last post, I was under the impression you were “done” with, and had quit, MeWe based on your previous claims. In fact, you wrote them right here on Mostly Blogging:
    .
    “After using mewe, I deleted it. It was full of people that spread hate, post illegal stuff and a lot of cyberbullying (is like that all people that want to hurt others are on mewe). So women unfriendly. That such platform is promoted”
    .
    So now, my question is: WHY did you return to MeWe since you hated it so much the last time? And, WHY would you use it for your “model photography business,” hating it the way you do?
    .
    After trying to read this post, I found myself having to re-read it, again and again. I’m guessing American English is not your primary language and you’re also unfamiliar with US Laws as well as US Supreme Court Rulings and definitions of what constitute “porn” of any kind. As I had a very difficult time reading it, I can only offer a response based on what I believe you were trying to say, minus the legal jargon. That’s my grandpa’s area. Let’s begin by breaking it all down.
    .
    1. You refer to “underneath the surface” of something, and fail to explain, expound or define exactly what you are eluding to, leaving the reader to “guess” or incorrectly conclude MeWe somehow has an underground/illegal section. I need facts to support to these claims, not just feelings or emotions which cannot be measured by legal tests or otherwise.
    .
    You wrote: “This is the surface, underneath the surface there is more.”
    .
    Under the surface of what? Where?
    .
    2. You stated you’re a model photographer and use MeWe as a source for your business, but have nothing to show or direct the reader to, on MeWe, Facebook or any other Social Network. No “.com” website URL or even a social media link to a valid working page or website.
    .
    You wrote: “As I am (model) photographer i thought MEWE was nice to help my business…”
    .
    3. You claim you conducted research, on your behalf and spoke to “several” people as well as received complaints from your models – “about their experience” on MeWe, yet you never say what that experience happened to be to support your claims of poor conduct or bad behavior on the part of the owners/admin or other personnel at MeWe.
    .
    You wrote: “I did some research and spoke with several people on about their experience.”
    .
    4. You also claim you received “THOUSANDS” of screenshots since your experience on MeWe. You never say WHERE the screenshots came from or what they are about – could be funny cat/kitten pics for all we know – and you never explain exactly what your experience on MeWe was as it relates directly to THIS post. Rather, you jump from talking about you to talking about others and make references to what they experienced, again with no support and no facts.
    .
    You wrote: “I got over thousands of screenshots since then of what some experience on MEWE, and it goes from child p*** to revenge p***, photos copied from Instagram, Onlyfans, even with clear copyright signs on the photos to racial slur against certain populations of people.”
    .
    This form of transference mid-sentence is commonly known as “redirection” or “misdirection” and weakens your standing in your claims overall.
    .
    I’ve been a long time member of MeWe, as have all of our photographers, including my grandpa, since MeWe first began and I can honestly state for public record, I have NEVER seen, witnessed or remotely run across “child porn” or “porn” on MeWe ever.
    .
    I’m beginning to believe your definition of what constitutes pornography has been misguided or misunderstood as far as “legal, ethical and cultural” standpoints are concerned. Grandpa will explain this in his response using laws, court orders and other regulations, using in-depth legal knowledge that is not mine to possess or disseminate to others.
    .
    5. In continuing with your porn topic you claim MeWe allows groups to post what you called “revenge porn.” I must admit, since I had no idea what such a subject entailed, I had to look it up. I also found what you’d written to be confusing and lacking specific direction toward a logical conclusion in relation to the claims made.
    .
    You wrote: “Groups specially set up for revenge p*** and adding as much as possible people then inviting the girls to the group so they can make fun of it.”
    .
    While I now understand the revenge porn part, I’m still at a loss as to the rest of what you wrote since the sentence lacks structural integrity, and I refuse to guess the meaning behind it all.
    .
    6. You also claim “they” whomever “they” happen to be, somehow have access to personal/private information and details about “girls” as well as Facebook account data for the sole purposes of harassment and/or “blackmail.” I would caution anyone using this term. It is a very slippery slope and can land YOU in prison for liable, defamation of character and slander. PROOF must be in your hands long before making such claims and I find the claims of blackmail on a Blog site and not filed with FEDERAL AUTHORITIES, deceitful and questionable at best. And you add the “girls” (still NOT stating just who these girls are), report what they can and MeWe refuses to act. Report “it” to whom? What is “it?”
    .
    You blame MeWe administrators for acting on the “girls” claims and again when offenders sign up under new identities using the “same” emails. It would be impossible for you to know this, and impossible to use a “blocked” email and IP address ever again. It’s also impossible for you to know just what their private email accounts are filed under unless you’ve committed a crime to obtain that data. Blaming MeWe admin for acting on behalf of these “girls” and again for not acting on their behalf. What? Sort of a damned if you do, damned if don’t scenario playing out in this claim.
    .
    You wrote: “They post girls private information, fb accounts so they can be harassed, blackmailed (all with screenshots out of mewe). Those girls report what they can but mewe is not acting and if so those cyberbullies can make new with same email address, etc.”
    .
    Since your claim clearly stated you are in possession of physical evidence (screenshots), of criminal activities taking place, and you have failed to report these acts to the LAW, you have admitted to a crime.
    .
    You have first hand knowledge of a felony and have failed to report it. This is commonly known as an “act of omission.” It is also a FELONY. However, I find this claim to be unfounded and lacking any verifiable facts. Giving out private information online is just plain stupid and bears no fault on the part of MeWe or any social networking site, ever.
    .
    8. Next you claim MeWe administrators allow these illegal activities to take place, yet offer no facts or evidence to support your claim. It’s supposition and assumption based entirely on your feelings and emotions, nothing more.
    .
    You wrote: “the admin or creator play an essential role, but if they want to allow such things,…”
    .
    9. Skipping ahead to such vague and open claims of suicide without specifically explaining the cause might lead a reader to assume you were speaking about MeWe as the causes of suicide. These types of open claims infuriate me. They lack direction, compassion for the families and seek only to insight pain, anger and violence. No facts, no specifics, no direction, no legal standing whatsoever.
    .
    You wrote: “Girls are taking their lives because of such things. When that was posted in a group, they laughed about it in these groups”
    .
    This claim tells me you have first hand knowledge and have actually been a party to these groups. Closed and private groups require an invite and YOUR acceptance. How would you know they laughed unless you joined in?
    .
    What verifiable statistics do you have that any Facebook group or other social site is the cause of any person’s suicide? Did you read these very private/personal suicide letters belonging to all of these people? How did you get possession of such private items? Where does your data come from showing any social networks cause the deaths of anyone? Claim after claim, after claim, with absolutely ZERO proof, facts or evidence to support what you have written is true.
    .
    10. My last point and one I will allow my grandpa to address fully in his response as it ruins everything that has been claimed here. You are obviously a very dedicated follower of Facebook and Zuckerberg. One of the most damning claims you wrote is that FB prohibits, prevents, has stopped or miraculously does not allow any such activity to transpire on their site by “restricting” porn, cyberbullying and other illegal activities. Are you really serious? WOW! Grandpa, it’s time for the law!
    .
    ~Alexa Shaw, Professional Photographer
    .
    .
    NOTE: Grammar and spelling errors remain unchanged from Sheila’s original to preserve the integrity of the article being discussed.

    • Janice Wald

      Here is Craig’s Part 2 of 2:

      Hello Sheila,
      .
      My name is Craig Alexander, the grandfather to Alexa Shaw. You and I have never had an opportunity to discuss your rants, claims or accusations. I’m going to change all of that right here, right now. Allow me to say, ‘IF’ you really did have a bad experience on MeWe – a social network or blog site is not the first, nor best place to address the truth of such a vital issue. I’d like to add, based on your words, deleting your MeWe account then signing up again, is not very smart, provided everything you have claimed is the truth and is in accordance with US law and Supreme Court orders and parameters.
      .
      That being said, I think it’s high time you learned exactly what PORN happens to be and how it is de – fined and enforced in America. The preeminent law dictionary cited by the US Courts falls within the Black’s Law Dictionary. It defines PORNOGRAPHIC as:
      .
      “That which is of or pertaining to obscene literature; obscene; licentious. Material is pornographic or obscene if the average person, applying contemporary community standards, would find that the work taken as a whole appeals to the prurient interest and if it depicts in a patently offensive way sexual conduct and if the work taken as a whole lacks serious literary, artistic, political or scientific value. Miller v. California, 413 U.S. 15, 24-25, 93 S.Ct. 2607, 2615, 37 L.Ed.2d 419.
      See also Dominant theme; Obscene; Pander (Pandering of obscenity); Prurient interest.” .
      For those that do not understand Prurient Nature. Black’s defines this as:
      .
      “Prurient interest: A shameful or morbid interest in nudity, sex, or excretion. Brockett v

  25. Craig Alexander

    Both sections are needed to fully comprehend this reply. Part TWO is the LAW with brief discussions in between the citations.

  26. madmax

    After reading posts about MeWe, I can honestly tell you that some people will have great experiences with Mewe, while others will not.
    Lets start from the beginning…..The Internet is questionable. do you know whom you are chatting with on social networks? Are they male or female? Are they adults or older underage children? You say they have a picture? Is it their picture? The internet is full of roleplay and the unknown. Period.
    On to MeWe.
    Before the election and BLM riots across the country, Mewe welcomed with open arms refugees from Tumblr. Tumblr as you recall was open to just about anything, and left people alone. Tumblr began clamping down on users. Users went to MeWe. MeWe grew! MeWe said they were not big government looking over your shoulders. Encrypted chats. No personal information was kept.
    Wonderful! Fantastic! Unbelievable! Finally an honest site that made a little money from some members, without bothering or spying on those members. Some site have “backdoors” to let government and certain agencies come looking for all sorts of disruptive members. Not MeWe. No “Backdoor”. Finally….two people can chat and say…I love you, without interference or judgement.
    What people do not consider is …..Mewe has it’s own police force. They look over your shoulder. They spy on you. They have the normal make your own/join a group. Unlisted in those groups is ..”Adult Material”. If you start a group that is adult themed, your group is listed under adult, which is not normally shown to the general population of members!
    Mewe is not unique on the web. The Federal Government knows and understands, because MeWe will protect itself before you. No matter what BS they tell you. Mewe wants to stay on the web and whatever people read is whatever people will believe. Mewe want money., members and to work with the Feds to keep in good standing with “Big Brother”. I left MeWe because I felt uncomfortable even though I liked the peopl I met. Like any other site MeWe says…..We are growing everyday! Thousands come to us. MeWe will fail. Why? People come. People go. People learn.

    • Alexa Shaw

      Yes. And people lie and write material which lacks supporting facts or proofs. Happy holidays!

    • Scorpio

      MeWe is nothing more than a venting platform for the ultra right, which cares not about truth but more about their own agenda!

      • Alexa Shaw

        Interesting personal opinion. Do you have physical evidence/proof to back this up? Please post it, thanks.
        .
        ~Alexa Shaw

    • Alexa Shaw

      Hi madmax,
      .
      I read your story and found it – NEEDY. It was interesting, somewhat amusing, yet quite needy. Been on MeWe since it began. Also run a wonderful photography group and “police” the creeps, stalkers, predators, etc. ourselves. It’s not just our right to do so, it’s our duty to protect our group members. Some are under 18. Be that as it may, you wrote, in reference to MeWe personnel: “They look over your shoulder. They spy on you.”
      .
      In the manner which it is written, you inadvertently imply you have FIRST HAND information, physical proof and knowledge to support your claims and allegations. As my grandpa would say: EXTRAORDINARY CLAIMS, REQUIRE EXTRAORDINARY PROOF – PROVIDE THE PROOF.
      .
      He’s former Army SID/MP as well as civilian UC and Army SF, so quite the background and character. However, I happen to agree with him on this requirement.
      .
      If Janice will allow it, please provide your physical evidence to prove and physically support your claims are, well, not just stories. I look forward to reading your documented proof soon.
      .
      Have a great new year in 2021. May your days be brighter and better than each previous one.
      .
      Alexa Shaw, Photographer and MeWe Photography Group Creator & Moderator
      January 11, 2021 Guam TIme

    • Janice Wald

      Hi Sam,
      Thanks for commenting. I had not heard this. I heard people are flocking in droves to MeWe since the November 3 Presidential Election, so the site must be doing something right.
      Janice

  27. John

    I used mewe 2 times and my profiles got deleted by mewe.
    It suffers from any kind of touch with normal life.
    As member of nudism and naturism sites, where they proclaim not to interfere.
    But as all social media, they dont stick to rules.
    Mewe is not what you pretend to write.
    There are equal fake accounts as the members you write 6 million= 50/50 so about 3 million fake accounts.

    • Alex Shaw

      Hi AJ,

      My name is Alexa, and I’m a MeWe user. Janice has asked if I can help you, and I’m certainly going to do my best.
      .
      Hopefully, my tiny input will not only answer your question, it will provide some added information to help you tailor your MeWe experience for the better.
      .
      Short answer: No, only you can see the groups you are in. I set up a “dummy” account and added that “DUMMY” as a “contact” and immediately went to that profile page. There was nothing on that page that showed any of my groups and I belong to many, plus I operate my own.
      .
      Additionally…you can streamline your contact permissions BY…
      .
      Going to that CONTACT”S – PROFILE PAGE.
      .
      First open your CONTACTS LIST by left-clicking YOUR PROFILE image located in the upper right corner on YOUR Profile Page.
      .
      A “dropdown menu” will appear and MY CONTACTS will show in the list.
      .
      Left-click it and you’ll be taken to the list of YOUR contacts.
      .
      Locate the CONTACT which you’d like to “limit” permissions for and HOVER your mouse over their profile image. A small dialog box appears.
      .
      Left-click on PROFILE. You’ll be taken to their Profile Page.
      .
      On their Profile Page, on the right side, you should see a “Contact Permissions” box, check or uncheck any permissions you’d like to set for that contact.
      .
      Hope this helps.
      .
      ~Alexa Shaw, Photographer & MeWe User

  28. Diane Bazzano

    I have an account on my phone. I would prefer being able to use it on both the Iphone platform and my computer. However, I forgot my password and the email I used. Can I get the information about my email at least so I can change my password?

  29. Diane

    I have an account on my phone. I would prefer being able to use it on both the Iphone platform and my computer. However, I forgot my password and the email I used. Can I get the information about my email at least so I can change my password?

    • Alexa Shaw

      Hi Diane,
      .
      My name is Alexa and I use MeWe everyday. That being said…I GOTS GOOD NEWS & BAD NEWS…
      .
      First the BAD. You’ll either need to start putting in ALL of your various emails when you see “Forgot Password,” or contact MeWe admin directly to see if your name is associated with any “email” accounts. The forgot password method is long and boring, but it does work. Just keep putting in different emails and it will keep rejecting you until it “recognizes” either a phone number or email associated with that account. Once it recognizes the account it offer to send a PASSWORD RESET.
      .
      The GOOD news is there is the alternative, which is to start again by first writing down the NEW email & password you want to use. Then enter this new data and start over.
      .
      Sadly, I’ve had to do both and it really, truly SUCKS! no matter which method you choose. They all take time. The new data method is the quickest and easiest to process. It also lets you know just how important writing this vital information down happens to be in the long run.
      .
      ~Alexa Shaw, Photographer & MeWe User

Would you like to share your thoughts?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

LinkedIn
Share
Instagram
%d bloggers like this: