MeWe Review: Danger- Your Privacy Is at Risk- This Is a Facebook Alternative

By: | January 8, 2019 | Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Are you interested in MeWe, the site that bills itself as the “anti-Facebook?”

This MeWe review explains

  • Is MeWe private?
  • Is MeWe a dating app?
  • What is the MeWe app used for?
  • Is MeWe better than Facebook?

MeWe Review

July 2020 Update: MeWe vs Facebook

This MeWe review is certainly timely. Facebook’s troubles continue as advertisers boycott the site for preferring “hate for profit.”

MeWe reviews will show MeWe is the “anti-Facebook.” and a viable Facebook alternative.

This MeWe review shows that MeWe doesn’t sell personal data. This is in contrast to Facebook which has already admitted doing so.

If you have seen recent MeWe reviews 2020, you know that MeWe’s contributors continue to donate large amounts to the site.

Let’s get started learning about MeWe, the anti-Facebook. Bring on the MeWe review!

MeWe Review

Updates in January 2019: Now that Google+ is closing, MeWe is enabling all Google+ users to update their Google+ content directly to MeWe

Also, since the original publication of this post, I discovered MeWe has an app called, “MeWe Network.”

Quite a stir.

That’s what the impending closure of Google+ caused.

The announcement caused quite a stir twice: once when the site first initially announced it was closing due to a data breach, and then again when Google+ announced it was closing four months earlier than planned due to a second data breach.

I came to the rescue by researching and publishing my findings: 13 social media websites still growing their user bases.

A commenter informed me that although my choices of rising social media sites were good ones, there was even a better choice for an active social media site, a new site called “MeWe.”

The commenter, Alexa Shaw, authored this MeWe review to tell you about MeWe, the exciting social media site.

According to Alexa, “MeWe allows us to share our photographic adventures, visually and through the written word. They don’t allow commercial ads either. So, to be able to introduce people to a non-commercial social media gathering site to help them find a new home to replace G+, I’d be honored to send a little something your way.”

Bring on Alexa’s MeWe review and discover the advantages of using MeWe, a new social media site.

MeWe Reviews Update July 2020:

Since starting as a social media platform and Facebook alternative, MeWe continues to generate a great deal of hype.

There are many positive MeWe reviews such as this one:

Posted July 26, 2020:

“Left Facebook for MeWe and so far it’s a nice experience. There’s still room for growth such as more videos and groups but I like the fact that everything is in one app instead of having to download two like you have to do with Facebook. Plus, the privacy is welcoming. Don’t have to worry so much about Big Brother having access to everything I do on my phone. Keep it up MeWe! I believe in you! (Source)”

A Facebook Alternative

MeWe Review: An Introduction To MeWe

Social Media – The Way It Was Intended

Google Plus Is Shutting Down. Facebook Sells Your Personal Data — MeWe.com Can Help

Alexa Shaw

When Janice asked me to write a MeWe review, I was happy to add my 2-cents. My non-profit, This Is Saipan, and I have been members of MeWe since 2016. I can’t tell you about Mark Weinstein’s visionary origin story behind MeWe, but I can certainly fill you in on its cornucopia of features.

What convinced the others and me at This Is Saipan & 15th Parallel Photography, is the fact Mark Weinstein, the founder, and creator of MeWe, intentionally designed his social media platform around a shield of “personal privacy.”

Imagine, a social network designed with the specific intent of building an infrastructure that maintains OUR privacy and not to strip it away. Another feature we really appreciate – NO ADS! There are no commercial ads on MeWe.

Your pages, group meetings, conversations, chats, messages, etc. are ALL ad-free. Unlike Google+ and Facebook, MeWe is a website without commercial influence. That leaves us free to write, post, meet-up, chat, upload pics/clips/videos and more about pretty much anything when we adhere to common sense and follow the current laws of society.

With so many recent US and EU new requirements drowning social networking, Facebook and Google+ began to lose ground years ago, not to mention collecting numerous fines and lawsuits, and they continue to do so.

MeWe is fairly new, and in July 2018, it surpassed 2 million active members (many coming from Facebook and Google+), with rapid growth and it is predicted to reach millions more by 2021. For a complete paradigm shift in social networking standards, laws, requirements and infrastructure building, those are pretty awesome numbers.

I admit I was a bit overwhelmed on our MeWe homepage after logging in for the first time. As with anything, however, you need to spend a little time getting used to what’s in front of you. Once I did, I felt free and introduced MeWe to everyone at work – then we told our friends in the US. We live and work in the Northern Mariana Islands. I know, but someone has to live in a tropical paradise, right?

Some of MeWe’s features include:

  • No ads;
  • No spying;
  • No BS;
  • #Not4Sale (the members – we’re NOT for sale – think Instagram, Twitter, Google+ and Facebook are selling your personal data);
  • Unlimited group creation;
  • 1-on-1 private and open chats;
  • Open personal and group chats;
  • Disappearing content;
  • Custom camera w/GIF creation;
  • Live voice and video;
  • “Next-Gen” voice messaging;
  • Ultra secret chats with double-ratchet encryption (a paid feature add-on);
  • Custom personal and group profile creation;
  • Personal cloud storage;
  • Total control over your data and content – you own what you upload – period.
  • NO censorship (beyond societal requirements);
  • NO content manipulation;
  • NO news feed to push your content to the bottom of the page;
  • NO facial recognition;
  • Every public post, chat, image, video, comment, etc. is seen by all of your fellow MeWe members;
  • TRUE timeline ordering – with no outside interference;
  • Custom profile pics;
  • Custom banner images;
  • Notifications you customize;
  • Member suggestions for improvements, new features, etc. – that actually get applied;
  • The feedback that’s actually read and answered;
  • Events calendars;
  • Multi-language capable;
  • A separate “Pro” MeWe (mewepro.com), and so much more.

MeWe is browser-based, so it’s cross-platform: Windows, Mac, Linux, *iOS, *Android (*through free mobile apps or mobile browsers).

MeWe also has a store so members can purchase add-ons and features to personalize their MeWe experience without requiring a subscription fee. With so many free features, we’re quite happy with what we’ve been given already.

If you are looking (or someone you know is looking), for a Facebook alternative or as an alternative to Google Plus since the site is closing, you might want to try MeWe as a viable replacement. It’s free, private, and not too difficult to make the leap. We took a chance on this Next-Gen “2016 Innovative World Technology Finalist,” and we’re all glad we did. We’ve never looked back.

Everyone reading this should give MeWe a spin. It’s fresh and filled with features not found elsewhere. It costs nothing, is fun, exhilarating and an awesome alternative to Google Plus. You can choose the site as a Facebook alternative or use MeWe as an addition.

MeWe’s been around for about 4 years, starting out under another name and changing it to MeWe in 2016, receiving high praise and innovative technology recognition in that same year.

MeWe is edgy, smart, intuitive, and features rich content right from the start. There are many ways MeWe is better than other social networks. The most important is that MeWe was created by putting the privacy needs of its members FIRST! Mark Weinstein, founded MeWe with the belief social media isn’t for sale and neither is our privacy.

There’s no one looking over your shoulder as you work or play. There are no big corporations demanding advertising favors for support dollars. There’s no tracking, no commercial ads and no push toward corporate interests.

Everything you say, type, upload or produce, belongs to you. It’s never given away or sold to anyone. There’s no data mining of your personal information for private, corporate, or government agencies.

MeWe runs on Next Generation Technology (think 2G to 5G!). Using the power of next-gen tech is propelling MeWe to the forefront of social media worldwide. It’s been gaining momentum since the first day it went into operation.

If you want a fantastic alternative to Google Plus or an alternative to Facebook, or you just want another social media outlet, MeWe should be on your immediate things-to-do list.

MeWe is new, fresh, and social media 2.0 and beyond; better than Google Plus and Facebook; great fun for personal use; well suited to carry on business needs and collaboration in real-time – with NO big bro listening/tracking; has plenty of customizing features; runs smoother and faster than other social media network sites and has no corporations pushing THEIR products on to you.

Each of us at This Is Saipan & 15th Parallel Photography made the move to MeWe in 2016 and we haven’t looked back. MeWe is our social media home to post, play, discuss, educate and inform people of just about everything photography. We even started the MeWe group ‘Self-Taught Photographers,’ so anyone and everyone can ask us questions and learn about the joys of photography and how to get the most out of their DSLR.

Mark Weinstein and his team are showing the social media giants that dedication to the people and our privacy needs is far more rewarding than indulging in corporate greed. We agree. Seriously consider giving MeWe a try. You really can’t beat the price! MeWe is free!

15th Parallel Photography’s MeWe Homepage

MeWe Review: Your Facebook alternative
 

Author Bio: Alexa Shaw, Photographer Co-founder of This Is Saipan

I went from model to photographer because I DON’T like talking about myself, and because I love what photographs bring to the people who hire me.
 

Host blogger’s comments

As you see, Alexa gave a positive MeWe review. 

MeWe Awards

If you go to MeWe.com, you’ll see MeWe received many honors:

  • Startup of the Year Finalist
  • Best Entrepreneurial Companies in America
  • 2018: “One to Watch” TechTrends Report

Wrapping Up MeWe Review: Facebook Alternative An Introduction to MeWe

I have firmly maintained bloggers should use Facebook groups to promote their articles despite the accusations against Facebook regarding data breaches. Alexa offers a different perspective in this article.

If you, too, are concerned about Google+ closing and the potential for continual security problems using Facebook, consider using MeWe. Alexa presents MeWe has a viable Facebook alternative and one of the alternatives to Google Plus.

Readers, please share so other people concerned about data breaches read this MeWe review and consider using MeWe as an alternative to GooglePlus or as an alternative to Facebook.

I look forward to your views in the comments section. What is your opinion after reading this MeWe Review? Do you think you might consider giving MeWe a try?

UPDATE: July 2019

MeWe announced it collected $4.5 million from high-net-worth investors and passed five million members.

Mark makes the case that Facebook should not be broken up by antitrust regulators– MeWe’s success proves that Facebook is not a monopoly.

More exciting news: MeWe is predicted to have 30 million members by the end of 2019, and 150 million by the end of 2020.

Update October 2019

According to MeWe’s David Westreich,

MeWe just announced it surpasses 6 million members and is named a 2019 “Best Entrepreneurial Company in America” by Entrepreneur magazine. 
Recently MeWe has ranked as a “Top 10” Social App and the #1 Trending Social App in the Google Play Store.

Here’s the press release: 
https://www.
prnewswire.com/news-releases/
facebook-competitor-mewe-
surpasses-6-million-members-
becomes-1-trending-social-app-
and-named-a-2019-best-
entrepreneurial-company-300930269.html


New announcements include:

MeWe expects over 100 million members by the end of 2020, having achieved 405% growth in 2018 and growing twice as fast on a daily basis in 2019

60% of MeWe’s traffic is international and 35% of members are active–exceeding industry standards.”

Additional Updates

  • MeWe expects over 100 million members by the end of 2020, having achieved 405% growth in 2018 and growing twice as fast on a daily basis in 2019
  • 60% of MeWe’s traffic is international and 35% of members are active–exceeding industry standards
MeWe Review Update

Since publishing this MeWe review, I discovered these emojis MeWe offers. You can use the emojis to tell people on the site what you’re eating, drinking, reading, hearing, and watching.

February 2020

MeWe users are writing to complain about negativity and spam at MeWe.

I only promote in MeWe groups. I have not encountered any spam. If I did, I would ignore it the way I do at LinkedIn where I encounter spam promotions regularly.

March 2020

MeWe responds to the Coronavirus by assisting in social distancing.

Social distancing is known to prevent the spread of the Coronavirus, so MeWe invented the first-ever dual-camera video on a social media site. This assists people in virtually communicating.

A 2020 Press Release also announced MeWe is beginning to use Stories.

Exciting: According to the Press Release, MeWe was named 2020 Most Innovative Social Media Company by Fast Company.

In March, MeWe also announced its user-base surpassed 7 million members.

April 2020

Look what happens when you have a connection request on MeWe:

MeWe Review

You are reminded of all the perks MeWe offers along with the notification of your connection request.

May 2020

Yesterday, someone found this MeWe review by typing this question into Google’s search bar:

“Is Mewe.com a scam or a legit company?”

Of course, MeWe is a legitimate company! I don’t know why people would think otherwise.

MeWe is a company run by Mark Weinstein and makes a great Facebook alternative.

June 2020

Since MeWe started in 2012, the site has continued strong.

Let me share some data:

Globally, Alexa has an Alexa rank of about 8,000 which means it’s one of the world’s best websites according to Alexa.com. More information about the Alexa rank can be found here.

July 2020

The Chicago Sun Times published a list of social media sites that could be potential Facebook replacements amidst Facebook’s troubles with advertisers pulling their revenue money.

MeWe was among the social media sites listed. According to CEO Mark Weinstein :

““We have all the features people love about social, great groups, private news feeds for close friends, and none of the BS,” he says. “There is no way for a marketer to target you.”

MeWe Review: FAQ

Is MeWe really private?

Yes! MeWe assures users they will never sell your data. Founder Mark Weinstein started MeWe with this promise.

Does Facebook own MeWe?

No.

Who owns MeWe?

Mark Weinstein is MeWe’s founder.

What can you do with the MeWe app?

The app makes using MeWe convenient since you can access the site on your mobile device.

Related Reading

Livinvia is another new social media site: Why Livinvia is social media similar to Facebook.

  1. Jeanette S. Hall

    Used it a while back, like a couple of years ago. Don’t even remember my user information. Was not a good fit for me, personally.

  2. Janice Wald

    Hi Jeanette,
    Thanks for contributing to the discussion by commenting. I didn’t realize the site was that old. Some people may find they like it so it’s good people know their options.
    Janice

  3. Philip V Ariel

    Hi Janice,
    Good to read Alexa’s wonderful review about MeWe. 🙂
    He shared almost everything about MeWe and its wonderful features. I am already there and happy to read this post too.
    Thanks, Alexa for this wonderful share the best alternative to G+ as it is soon going to die!
    Thanks, Janice for the share of Alexa I am at #MeWe @ philipvergheseariel please join me. Thanks
    Keep sharing.
    Best Regards

    • Robb Simpson

      You, like far FAR too many other MeWe “members”, are not actually using the platform. Perhaps I am ignorant of MeWe’s potential, but I visited your profile and found nothing more than a couple of nice pictures and some biographical details. If there is anything positive about that, at least you put in a little bit of effort to personalize your profile.

      Join MeWe! Just don’t use it. 6 million members doesn’t mean anything if those members just fill out a form and ignore it!
      I joined. I use it frequently. I love the concept and promote -Push!- MeWe on my FB account. Get Active!!

      • Sheila

        After using mewe, I deleted it. It was full of people that spread hate, post illegal stuff and a lot of cyberbullying (is like that all people that want to hurt others are on mewe). So women unfriendly. That such platform is promoted

        • Janice Wald

          Hi Sheila,
          I was sad when I read your comments. I am sorry you had such negative experiences at MeWe.
          As a blogging tips blogger, I try to let people know about new possibilities they can take advantage of on the internet.
          Your comments made me think about whether providing awareness equals providing a recommendation.
          That said, I use MeWe regularly and I have never had your negative experiences. I am guessing it’s because I only post content in groups I’m familiar with. I like the link from MeWe. If I had problems, I wouldn’t return to the groups.
          Thanks for letting my readers know about the negative side to MeWe.
          Janice

          • Alexa Shaw

            After reading “Sheila’s” February 2, 2020 post, I just couldn’t help but wonder….was she on MeWe, or did she log into her Facebook account?
            .
            While I’ve been a member of FB and MeWe for many years, I was bullied by once in all of the years I’ve been a member of MeWe. My grandpa, former Army soldier and SID Investigator, stepped in and solved the issue in a matter of days. Bobb the bully is long gone.
            .
            I’ve NEVER suffered any of what Sheila writes about. We even run a “Self Taught Photographer’s” group (https://mewe.com/join/self-taught_photographers), and we have RULES! They are very specific and very, very strict. You agree to follow them or you’re declined – period.
            .
            It’s sad Sheila had such a poor experience and deleted her MeWe account. Without knowing the facts and ensuing communications it’s impossible to know what happened to cause that situation. As grandpa has said: “everyone will tell you there is ‘the’ TRUTH and only the truth. Which in itself is a LIE. Others will tell you there are only two sides to a story.” Again, he will tell you that is also a LIE.
            .
            In all situations there are three sides to any truth and three sides to any story. This gave me pause when he first said it to me. After all, everyone knows there are only TWO sides to anything, or so I thought. I’ve since gained more respect for him and opened my mind to see, hear and learn, rather than accept what was taught to me as a child, as being the only way.
            .
            Have I kept you in suspense long enough? Do you want to gain insight just as I did? Here it is, in your face! The misconception of two sides is a lie and I’m about to explain how this is true.
            .
            First, there is MY truth. The story as I want it told. Second, is YOUR truth. The way YOU want to be perceived – hero, victim, etc. Then, there is the last truth. The one based NOT on feelings, emotions, personal beliefs or opinions. The only one that counts, is the TRUTH based on neutral, proven, imperial facts and only the facts. No emotions, feelings, personal bias or prejudices. Just cold as steel, in your face facts.
            .
            Think about the word HISTORY. By itself it’s harmless. Look closer and you begin to see the lie. History or HIS STORY. The events of the past based not on facts, but conjecture. To the victor go the spoils, is a phrase I have heard many times over. So, who writes the story about our past? Well, the VICTORS, (or conquerors as grandpa puts it), of battle of course.
            .
            When I read about Sheila’s issues on MeWe I couldn’t help but think about which truth I was reading. I’ll leave all of you to decide. I’m a woman, on MeWe and have had only ONE person in more than 4 years dare attack me on MeWe. Then again, I’m a member of very few groups and those groups have values similar to ours.
            .
            Oh, and just to update everyone, I found the following article about MeWe posted February 5, 2020:
            https://www.onenewspage.com/n/Technology/1zlqhn80uz/Facebook-challenger-MeWe-reveals-revenue-jumped-800-last.htm.

            Enjoy,
            Alexa Shaw
            Professional Photographer

          • Janice Wald

            Hi Alexa,
            Thank you for coming by and defending your article. My experience is like yours: I use the groups and I have never had a problem.
            Janice

          • Alexa Shaw

            Thanks Janice.
            .
            We’ve had a pretty hard time here. In Aug 2015, we were hit by our first SUPER typhoon (sustained winds exceed 150 mph), and shortly thereafter, the owner/landlord raised rent rates by “note” under the door (knowing no one could move).
            .
            In Oct 2018, we were hit by our second SUPER typhoon. Right at the same time, yep, you guessed it, the owner/landlord threatened to throw everyone out if they didn’t accept his “note” rent increases – again. And where would we go exactly? We hadn’t recovered from #1.
            .
            Wouldn’t you know it, Oct 2019, our third SUPER typhoon hit and yep, another “note” with a threat to evict. No increase this time. Just get out by Halloween. These acts and veiled threats are illegal in the US. So, grandpa and I had enough. January 27, 2020 we filed a suit hoping to expose and stop all of this garbage. Win or lose, this man’s actions will become part of the public record. ALL of his ‘under-the-table’ dealings from 2015 through the end of the suit will be put on the docket, provided the court accepts our initial petition (grandpa is former SF and Army SID Investigator).
            .
            And what about all of our landlord/owner’s ‘note-style’ rent increases he very likely didn’t report as income..what do you suppose the IRS will think about that?
            .
            It’s been a struggle and a huge battle these last four years. FEMA declared Saipan a “national disaster” and reported it would take 15 years or more to fully rebuild, assuming NO more storm damages occur in that time frame. They also reported 97.3% total property losses and damages that will cost more than $$$$ 9.5 BILLION DOLLARS! When I walk through town I see homes and businesses from 2015, still lying in rubble right where they were erased.
            .
            So, where exactly are we to move? Oddly enough, after each typhoon hit, the surviving building owners & landlords increased rent rates, exponentially. I’m talking 2,3, and even 4 times pre-typhoon rates. Price gouging much?
            .
            Like all of the islanders here, we’ll fight and move forward as best we can. The one truly glaring issue in all of this: There are NO tenant-landlord or real estate lawyers on Saipan. We looked as far away as Hawaii. NONE for the Mariana Islands. A world tourist & vacation location with hotels, motels, rental houses and apartment buildings and ZERO expert lawyers in these fields. I mean, WHAT?
            .
            MeWe has been my refuge and place of solitude in all of this, well – crap! Without my ‘Self Taught Photographers Group,’ my grandpa and a few internet movies/TV shows, I would’ve crumbled long ago.
            .
            Great you’re still blogging out here. I keep sharing my experiences on MeWe with others and I’m continuously getting updates from others that read, and have been encouraged by my initial article. Keep moving forward and the dust won’t stick!
            .
            Alexa Shaw, Professional Photographer

          • Janice Wald

            Hi Alexa,
            That is a beautiful testimonial as to why we need social media sites like MeWe.
            Janice

          • Alexa Shaw

            Thanks Janice,

            We’ve enjoyed, and continue to enjoy, our time on MeWe. We’ll keep posting and sharing here and on MeWe and, in spite of the long road ahead, we’ll do our best to help others find their way, so they too, can reap the benefits of social networking without interfering commercial advertising.

            We’re also doing our best to restructure our websites (when time allows), to allow easier access for those individuals that simply must use a phone rather than a computer. Our images will NOT, however, be reduced in size. They will always remain 1600px or more. For the immediate future, we’re doing our best to find a new home for our business and us. That takes priority. We hope to win our Court action but one never knows these days.

            Enjoy and for those that live in the north, try to keep indoors and stay active. Keep out of the cold – wait for Spring!

          • Janice Wald

            Hi Alexa,
            Thanks for helping my readers on their journey as they explore MeWe.
            Janice

  4. Philip V Ariel

    Hi Janice,
    What a joy to be here again
    I am so glad to say that this post has been mentioned in my latest post.
    Thanks, Alexa for an in-depth review of this wonderful platform! No doubt its features are really wonderful and its clutter-free look is really enchanting.
    Keep writing
    Keep sharing
    Regards
    ~ Philip

  5. Pingback: MeWe - An Alternative To Google+ And Facebook ~ Philipscom
  6. Leslianne

    I really like Mewe, finding groups can take a fair bit of time and only because there are so many and even more sub groups, the privacy is outstanding, and the people there are nothing like the rude and ignorant type you run into on Facebook or on Google+ also don’t have to worry about strangers being offended by what you say or your content and reporting you, there are no friend suggestions so you are anonymous until you personally add someone to your list, I blog adult content and photo adult content, no fear of a minor finding my Mewe page or any of my content, this truly is social media at the next level, I have been migrating my FB to Mewe and will be dumping FB shortly

    • Janice Wald

      Hi Leslianne,
      Nice to “meet” you. Thanks for writing with this testimonial about the value of MeWe.
      Janice

  7. Davida Chazan

    I joined and I’m already not impressed. Two of the groups I signed up with had SPAM posts (with inappropriate pictures) front and center within the first 15 minutes of my being on the site.

    The idea is fine, but unless people moderate their groups better, then it will be rendered totally useless almost immediately!

  8. Alexa Shaw, Photographer

    WOW! Janice,

    Thanks so much for posting my review on MeWe. Its been a bit hectic around here of recent days – Grandpa’s “Brad Nailer” is dying a slow & grizzly death. He’s been running around like a chicken without a head! It’s hilarious. So many projects for the office, apartment and some photography projects he’d like to get done before summer and his favorite nail gun wants die. He’s ordered a new one, but..

    I’m really glad some of my words have helped others. As for the person that ran into “PORN” I can only add, “you should have looked before you clicked.” Yes, adult pages exist on MeWe – kinda goes along with the whole “privacy” thing, yes? We’ve been here for 2+ years and have NEVER received SPAM or PORN. We check every profile BEFORE accepting or approving – period. As for the SPAM, once again, looking before clicking that subscribe or join button may prevent that.

    And for the nice gentleman with the pleasant comments on my review, I’m NOT a man – I’m a WOMAN, thus the name AlexA with an ‘A’ at the end. Easy mistake. You should see it when Grandpa gets referred to as – yep, a woman. You could probably cook eggs on his forehead. You would think with a name like CRAIG people would know, but then again it’s all about looking AND seeing – yes?

    I’m really glad I could help people find a new social media home. Thanks to everyone for leaving those wonderful comments. And thanks again, Janice, for asking me to write about MeWe. It’s been a long time since I actually wrote something longer than replies like this one. Oh, and I fixed part of our website and put some random pics up for viewing. Still working on getting that ransomware completely out of our system, especially our NAS.

  9. Lala

    I looked into it and was trying to figure out whether to use it or not. Thanks for the information! I might give it a go:)

  10. Martin Lindeskog

    Janice: I will check out MeWe. I will not leave Facebook. How will MeWe make money?

    All the Best,

    Martin

    • Janice Wald

      Hi Martin,
      Great to see you! Thanks for commenting on my MeWE article.
      I Googled it:
      MeWe makes money the same way offline companies have always made money; by offering optional services that enhance the lives and experiences of our members. Additionally, members can purchase up to 500GB of data storage, enjoy helpful private group apps from the MeWe App Store, print their pictures (we’ve partnered with Walgreens in the USA), select coupons, and more.
      I’m also still in the process of checking out the new site. The post was written by a guest author. Thanks for coming by.
      Janice

  11. Philip V Ariel

    Hi Janice,
    Thanks for the facebook notification, sorry I was a bit busy and was away from FB as well as other blogs and platforms, I am just back and noticed your response to my comment. Will just post the link too. You have been mentioned in here: Here is the link: https://www.pvariel.com/mewe-an-alternative-to-google-and-facebook/
    Thanks
    Have a wonderful week ahead.
    Keep sharing.
    Regards
    ~ Philip

  12. A. Garcia

    This looks interesting. I deleted my farcebook account two years ago. I’ve been using IG, and although it still has a simple interface, and is relatively easy to find the people who I actually know in the “real” world there, I am not feeling very good about their acquisition by fb. I don’t want to put any more money in zuckerbergs pockets if I can help it.
    Perhaps my wife and I will give MeWe a trial run.

    • Janice Wald

      Hi,
      Thanks for writing to tell me your concerns over Facebook and your feelings about Instagram. Although I’ve barely dipped my toes into MeWe’s waters, (the post was written by a guest author), many of my friends are using MeWe and seem happy. Let me know what you think of it.
      Janice

  13. Robb Simpson

    I joined MeWe back in July when a FB “friend” posted something about it. The entire concept of the platform is perfect! I am on MeWe daily (as much as I was on that dastardly FB!) I promote MeWe on my FB account. In fact, that is the only thing I post there.

    My one and only issue is that of the supposed 6 million members, I would be surprised that the 35% mentioned are truly active in the space. I have searched names and interests and locales. I am now utterly sick of seeing a profile pic of a smiling slice of bread or taco. And the banner pic of a lonely hill at sunset is depressing.

    For MeWe to make an actual impact on social media, members need to become Active! Post your pics! Share that meme! Say Something! …heck, if anything, change your freaking profile image and banner pic, for crying out loud!…

    • Janice Wald

      Hi Robb,
      Thanks for commenting on my MeWe article.
      I have not posted much on my wall. However, I am very active when it comes to posting in groups. I’m actually in 9 groups. Maybe others, like me, use MeWe that way. I find groups expose me to like-minded content creators.
      Janice

  14. carlin

    has anyone heard of http://www.YouWeb.org? is it THE perfect alternative to facebook. but everybody else needs to know about it so that it can become an active social network! join YouWeb everybody. i think you’ll like it 🙂

    • Robb Simpson

      Initially, it looked, what? promising?
      Then, I read their Terms of Service and -more importantly- their Privacy Policy.
      The Privacy Policy is the worst written legal document I have ever seen. It is even more convoluted than any legal “read me” doc I I have seen on the ‘net. A great example of the horrid wording taken from a section “How to control cookies?”
      “You can check and / or check the cookies as you wish…”
      Check and / or check?? Really??!!
      It goes on and on about the collection of data about The User (YOU), how, what and where such data is collected etc etc etc ad nauseum.

      No. YouWeb is a Facebook wannabe. It states that advertising will be found AND that the ads will be targeted based upon data collected about you. Might as well stay with FB.
      I sticking with MeWe. They appear to be straight shooters and don’t fiddle around with BS.

    • Janice Wald

      Hi Carlin,
      I haven’t heard of YouWeb. Apparently, you and Robb have. I assume it’s a social media site. I looked it up. There are many monthly searches for info about it.
      Janice

  15. Nnyan

    I love how excited you are about MeWe expected to have 30 million users by the end of 2019! And they with bated breath exclaim the awesomeness of it actually having 6 million users in that time period. But no worries it should NOW have 100 million (revised down from 150) by the end of 2020! HOW exciting!

    In case you didn’t know I very much doubt that MeWe has anything close to 6 million active users. Sure they maybe have 6 million accounts created, but many of these signed up, looked around and never logged back in again. MeWe has already started down the path of an alt-right haven (just look around the groups and come up with your own opinion) and whatever claims the creator has about privacy this is just a well-established fact if you do not moderate anyone or anything then your community quickly becomes a cesspool of the worst in humanity. And yes it’s been shown time and time again how the average person just absolutely L O V E S to spend time in those types of environments. Yeah! I’m not sure how you are paid to shill for MeWe or Weme or whatever but just stop.

    • Alexa Shaw

      It’s pretty easy. Just like most other social media sites, you sign up, fill in your profile and browse for groups that interest you. Be forewarned: MeWe is a strong prompter and supporter of NO CENSORSHIP!

      If you run across groups that provide adult content and you don’t want it, don’t go there! I also recommend going to your “profile page,” clicking on your tiny profile pic in the upper right corner and scrolling to, and clicking on: “Privacy & Sharing” in the drop-down list. These parameters will further limit to number and type of contact requests you’ll receive.

      Hi I’m Alexa Shaw, a long time member of MeWe. I run a photographers’ group on MeWe and have had only ONE incident in all of the years “WE” have been on MeWe. Go to: https://www.mewe.com and sign up. Then follow the steps which will get you started.

  16. w vd

    i like to tell you that mewe makes updates often and even when your ok with all you do and no illegal stuff you get a Ban and loos all your contacts and rooms/groups your in,, and this every 2 mounts,– sad..
    i had a lot of nice contacts but lost all now,, and after a remake of profile (WITH AGAIN a new e-mail address – old one is blocked after remove from mewe through update) ,, i never can go back to the old groups,, even with a search i can no longer find them, strange behavier of Mewe i think..
    so be carefull, WRITE all contact names on paper and groups/rooms to ,, maybe you can find them some day again.. i forgot it,, (((( — and they keep your e-mails in a kind of list on where you can not use them again,,

  17. Alexa Shaw

    We’ve been members for FOUR (4) YEARS and have never had anything deleted by MeWe during an update or at any other time. “WE” have 3-MeWe accounts. One for each of our endeavors: Business, Educational-Nonprofit and Nonprofit, respectively.

    No one at 15th Parallel has ever had to sign up more than once. No one here has ever been blocked, deleted or otherwise removed by MeWe – updates or not. No contacts have ever been blocked “WITHOUT” our consent. We’ve blocked numerous “porn” mongers ourselves and will continue to do so. We’ve never had any groups be blocked or deleted by MeWe. We’ve never been banned by MeWe. Then again, we’re really good people…honestly…okay, grandpa can be bit edgy at times, but that’s not the point here.

    I can’t help but wonder if you’re using “public” WiFi or a “shared” IP address or service whereby someone on that connection DID do something nefarious or somehow violated the rules of social media. Perhaps, your IP address, or anyone’s really, has been hacked/piggy-backed (use of another person’s signal for anonymity).

    In any case, it may have been prudent to start by writing/contacting MeWe’s Gurus or Site Techs first (no mention of you doing this in your post). You could’ve reached out to others on the Net (Google is easy to use), to ask if anyone else had experienced similar events (no mention of you doing this either).

    As a final idea, contacting your service provider to have them run a simple line check for RF signal “leaks” on your connection may have helped as well, provided your connection is a single home line (which means not shared with others). Leaks of this type can indicate your service may have been hacked, or if you use one, your router/range extender (Yes, it happens. We have 256 bit DOD encryption. Thanks grandpa!).

    In reading your post, I can’t help thinking something truly important has been omitted, yet is likely very necessary to gain full insight into your issues. For now, at least, I just can’t seem to narrow down what that may be – yet. I’ll need to “mull it over” (as grandpa says), and develop a critical hypothesis. With 3 separate accounts, at more than four years, all doing different things and running our own group, I’ve never heard of anyone, other than you ‘W VD,’ having these problems. I’ll forward your post/concerns to groups we share with to see if anyone else has had similar issues.

    Alexa Shaw, Photographer

    • Janice Wald

      Hi Alexa,
      As for me, I’ve never had anything deleted or run into these problems either.
      Thanks for coming by and setting the record straight about MeWe.
      Janice

      • Alexa Shaw

        Thanks, Janice.
        .
        It’s always a pleasure receive comments and to know MeWe is doing quite well.
        .
        ~Alexa

    • Wvd V

      i have done everything to check why and how it works even with my provider and all is ok, no leaks or anything,, still can no longer login or make a new profile,, on the site,,
      is my IP address maybe blocked bij your provider or site people?

      • Alexa

        I honestly don’t believe you have my service provider. I get my internet connection from Guam, USA.

        You could try to contact the owners of MeWe and provide your IP address. You can also try using a browser extension. For Firefox it’s BROWSEC. It’s free and semi-automatic (addons.mozilla.org). It will change your IP simply by selecting a new “country.” You’ll find the icon in your top bar. Click it and a dialog box pops up. Click on the on/off switch in the bottom of the pop-dialog box, to turn it on, select a country – IGNORE the premium ads and try to connect to MeWe using the vpn extension. We’re using it because, for some unknown reason, EBAY has decided our IP address (on certain days), is not approved. Browsec is also available on Chrome as an extension.

        And, another method would be to go to a friends house – must be different IP, to see if you can sign up from there. If you can, write to MeWe directly and have them fix your IP to being accepted on their system.

        We’re professional photographers. We don’t work for, nor are we associated with, MeWe, other than being “members” of the social media website.

        Hope these suggestions help.

        Alexa Shaw

        • Janice Wald

          Thanks for helping Alexa. You gave the commenter great advice.
          Janice

        • Leslie

          I would advise caution in using a public proxy service, especially if one is sending credentials through it.

          • Alexa Shaw

            First, the short answer. BROWSEC is not a public proxy. It’s a VPN filter for Firefox and Firefox compatibles.

            Second, the longer answer on contacting the owners of MeWe. I’m not sure about the owners, however, Mark Weinstein is the creator of MeWe and top admin. Contact at: mark@mewe.com, would be first try. Also, if this fails, you can try contact through MeWe’s “Feedback” box at: https://mewe.com/group/55f9dd29e4b050c69e693558. In the box you’ll see a tiny downward pointing triangle. Click on this and choose the type of message you’d like to send.

            Be aware, lots of emails are sent everyday – SO – if you don’t get a reply as fast as you want it, suck it up and BE PATIENT!
            .
            Thanks for reading! 🙂

        • Leslie

          Alexa:

          Please provide the method you recommend for someone to “contact the owners of MeWe.”

          Thank you.

  18. w f van der vaart

    sad.. i was on Mewe After mounts not able to be on it,, and what happend,, next day i was OFF again,, never got a reason why,, nobody explained,,
    so ,,, OR i am Hacked with some program/ maleware that put me off everytime OR they keep IP addresses in store at Mewe and always Ban you as soon as you come back from your ip address,
    realy sad,, its A BAD program now even more than FB ,,

Would you like to share your thoughts?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

LinkedIn
Share
Instagram
%d bloggers like this: